Jump to content

Using GP - prevent a user on more than one pc?


Have this problem?  

38 members have voted

  1. 1. Have this problem?



Recommended Posts

Posted

Parts of both really, some students who I know would properly logoff have come in, and a lot of students just turn their pc's off. Since I implemented it I got so many people come in it was more of a problem for me than it was for them.

 

fooby

Posted

The script in that form is prone to allsorts of problems really. That was just a faithful reproduction of the original. Ideally modified scripts need to be added to start up and shutdown to clear users as well as the ability to check if a host is on the network to clear it that way.

Once I have finished my bulk AD user tool I may revisit this and add all the features I wanted to originally.

Posted
I had the same problem Fooby - on Citrix tho' users could possibly get disconnected sessions accidentaly, which is why I turned it off.
Posted

we use maxlogons by flocs. It only costs £80 for a site licence and you'll have in running in no time at all. You add your users into groups depending on the number of times you want them to be able to log on. Say you want a year 11 Art student to be able to logon to to any two machines you just put them in the maxlogon2 group.

 

Anyone want to demo it go here :-

http://www.flocs.com/products...efault.htm

  • 1 year later...
Posted
So...a few years on is limitlogon still the best way to get this going? I only want to get it working for a particular set of students.
Posted
hasn't the all singing all dancin' Windows Server System got this built in yet ?

 

lol actuall it was a feature on NT4 that somehow didn't make it into an active directory environment. There's a good reason for it but i can't remember what it is at the moment. Still you would of thought they might of bought something out by now but MS have a habit of leaving certain things to third parties, print management being one that springs to mind untill R2.

Posted

Why not give them a re-directed desktop with the exclusive rights flag still set?

Cant remeber the exact setting but there is one where the user gets redirected to a share and it creates a desktop for each user.. (give the share read-only access.. etc)

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...