Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

Hi all

 

I need to migrate a file server complete with shares and I pretty much have it all planned including the cutover but I have one question I cannot find the answer to.

 

I'm migrating files and shares to another server keeping the same name (which I have planned downtime for) what I want to know is what will happen to all those clients that have current mapped drives open to the old server once I have made the relevant dns changes.

 

I want to know specifically how the mapped drive will act when the dns entry has been changed and the ttl has been lowered.

 

I know any new logons/connections will work but what about those with current connections.

 

The clients are windows 7.

 

 

Thanks all

Posted

Current connections will break, and possibly just show a red X on the drive.

 

This is where DFS can save you a lot of time and work, because you never need to change your links/mappings. They can be silently switched from one server to the other in the back end without downtime.

Posted

If it's the same name and IP address, then yes.

Otherwise a DNS refresh on the client should kick them back into life.... at least it's worked like that here before.

Posted
So they won't just reconnect once the new server is online and responding correctly?

 

I don't think so... It's not actually the same server is it!

 

I always plan stuff like this for outside working hours and tell all staff to log off before leaving or stuff will be broken and require a reboot to fix.

Posted

Local DNS would be pointing to the wrong server etc. Unless you have really low timeouts.

 

e.g. FILE1 would be 10.0.0.1 on computer but it's now 10.0.0.10 (unless you're keeping them all same IP too?)

 

Steve

Posted
If DNS name and IP address will be the same, it may work, but it could be a bit cludgy and you may find that clients would need to log off/log on to re-establish the connection.
Posted

Cheers for all this advice guys!!

The IP address will be different.

 

I'm thinking that the log off / logon option is the only way. Just wish I had a definitive answer to what would happen and why..... perhaps some testing is needed.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...