Wubbalubbadub Posted April 15, 2015 Posted April 15, 2015 Evening all, I want to move the staff files to a new server. with this scenario Users documents folders are re-directed to: Server A: Currently a DC Hosting a seperate staff drive (D) I want to move staff to: Seperate file server on virtual host: (Server B) Now i know about robo copy and permissions ect... However no matter how I change the group policy for folder redirection it just seems to get the client to stick on "applying folder redirection policy" rather than realising there files are already on the new server?? Does this make sense to everyone? Am I doing something wrong? Thanks in advance for help. Matt
burgemaster Posted April 15, 2015 Posted April 15, 2015 Hi Matt, Have you got your ntfs permissions on the top level folder and your home share setup correctly? Looks outdated but I think the permissions are how we have ours set: http://blog.luxem.org/2010/07/how-to-setup-home-directories-on.html?m=1 1
Wubbalubbadub Posted April 15, 2015 Author Posted April 15, 2015 Hi Matt, Have you got your ntfs permissions on the top level folder and your home share setup correctly? Looks outdated but I think the permissions are how we have ours set: Agile IT by Doug Luxem: How To Setup Home Directories on a Windows File Server After checking it would appear not... Sorry could of sworn i checked. Thanks for your prompt reply and help!
mikkydoos Posted April 20, 2015 Posted April 20, 2015 Your error log will tell u if the perms aren't right.
Wubbalubbadub Posted April 21, 2015 Author Posted April 21, 2015 Ok now i have a second question. Yes i have setup the new server correctly and if i map the users to it it works. However it sits on "applying folder redirection policy" for ages as it copies the files from one server to another. Anyway to either; A) get it to do the folder redirection policy in the background so i can just change the policy and it syncs there documents up to the server in the background. B) Get it to realise the users folders are already there. Any help would be appreciated.
jenking Posted April 22, 2015 Posted April 22, 2015 Id personally Start again with permissions, therefore doing a basic robocopy to your new server. Recreate the shares using the rmtshare.exe and last off add your user permissions using xcacls.exe - both are Microsoft tools. You need to create a .csv to do this you need to output your directory foldernames to a .txt via cmd. I can send you some more info if required.
jenking Posted April 22, 2015 Posted April 22, 2015 Just re-read your question!! Within AD what do you set under your users profile tab .... Home folder?
Wubbalubbadub Posted April 22, 2015 Author Posted April 22, 2015 Just re-read your question!! Within AD what do you set under your users profile tab .... Home folder? Nothing because group policy does the folder redirection
Wubbalubbadub Posted April 22, 2015 Author Posted April 22, 2015 Well in the end we're just doing a phased approach. We're moving people in a phased approach. Pain in the a** but there we go. Thanks for help all
Sanchez Posted April 22, 2015 Posted April 22, 2015 If I'm reading this correctly you have copied all the files to the new server with robocopy but when users first logon it is moving the files again. There is an option on the folder redirection policy for 'move documents to new location' ( or something similar) that you can uncheck if you don't want the files moved at logon. 1
Wubbalubbadub Posted April 23, 2015 Author Posted April 23, 2015 If I'm reading this correctly you have copied all the files to the new server with robocopy but when users first logon it is moving the files again. There is an option on the folder redirection policy for 'move documents to new location' ( or something similar) that you can uncheck if you don't want the files moved at logon. That's the one! You beauty!
Wubbalubbadub Posted April 23, 2015 Author Posted April 23, 2015 Moving on from this... Now I have come across a new issue. We have decided to go with the route of phasing people over through the group policy. So now the issue stands that when the user logs into there machine, it keeps the older server, but as soon as i log them into a new machine it has the new server... what would cause that?
Wubbalubbadub Posted April 23, 2015 Author Posted April 23, 2015 Turns out i had to run this command; gpupdate /Target:User /Force /Logoff Sorted it out.
sniffingmoose Posted April 23, 2015 Posted April 23, 2015 I have been having a problem with this too, even though I have got a contracter to install a new server. I am moving the Curriculum network from server 2003 to Server 2012. However when I turned the shares off on the old server, all hell broke loose. 20 users lost their desktop and access to common folders. I had to turn back on a share callled icons on the old server so they could get their desktop icons back.! God knows why some user accounts are still hooking into the old server. Yes robocopy was used to copy all files over and replication was used for user accounts, dhcp scope etc. What I did learn was demoting an old server does not turn the shares off for that server. The contractor is investigating the issue so I will let you know what I find out.
Wubbalubbadub Posted April 23, 2015 Author Posted April 23, 2015 I have been having a problem with this too, even though I have got a contracter to install a new server. I am moving the Curriculum network from server 2003 to Server 2012. However when I turned the shares off on the old server, all hell broke loose. 20 users lost their desktop and access to common folders. I had to turn back on a share callled icons on the old server so they could get their desktop icons back.! God knows why some user accounts are still hooking into the old server. Yes robocopy was used to copy all files over and replication was used for user accounts, dhcp scope etc. What I did learn was demoting an old server does not turn the shares off for that server. The contractor is investigating the issue so I will let you know what I find out. Have you tried the command in my above post?
harriuk Posted April 23, 2015 Posted April 23, 2015 Going off memory here but if you have copied the files already using robocopy you can tell the gpo to not move files from source to destination - going from memory so not sure exactly what the wording is, but it's there in the options.
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now