Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

Hi all, I'm after a bit of advice on Dells factory restore partitions.

 

I've backed up all data so I can restore the OS but I'm wondering if the restore actually wipes the users folders. Can anyone tell me if the factory restore will 'inteligently' restore the OS and leave user data or does it scrub everything and just restore an image? It might save me restoring tons of data.

 

Dell Inspiron 1545 (1545-4853), Vista SP2.

 

Cheers.

Posted (edited)

Usually an OS restore will destroy everything, including user data. The only exception however, is sometimes some OEMs create a separate partition to store documents, so it would read: D:\Documents and Settings instead of the default C:\Documents and Settings. Or in the case of Windows Vista and 7, D:\Users or the default C:\Users

 

Either way I would always recommend taking a copy of all user data (including their Favourites) and Desktop folder, as in my experience, a lot of home users store data directly on their desktops.

Edited by Michael

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...