Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

Hi all,

 

We've had this issue for a few weeks now. Streams of students are coming to IT because some of their files have either gone missing, or have reverted to old versions so some work is missing within the document.

 

We use DPM to backup our student files, so we are able to restore them but we need to figure out why this is happening.

 

Example of a file which reverted its changes:

 

Ticket logged 08/10 for a file with missing pages. Student states the document was last modified 04/10.

My Documents shows the file was last modified 20/09.

Checking DPM backup on 08/10 (same morning issue was reported) the document version was last modified 04/10 with all the missing pages in the document.

 

It appears the document that morning reverted back to a previous version.

 

Has anyone experienced anything like this before?

 

Thanks

Posted
Could it be that you have some file sync is going on but it is being delayed until the pupil logins in again so an old copy is wiping over the network copy from the machine? Worth checking on the HDD of the PC to see if old versions are there? As you are talking about DPM I'm guessing this is all locally hosted, no OneDrive?
Posted
Could it be that you have some file sync is going on but it is being delayed until the pupil logins in again so an old copy is wiping over the network copy from the machine? Worth checking on the HDD of the PC to see if old versions are there? As you are talking about DPM I'm guessing this is all locally hosted, no OneDrive?

 

That's a good suggestion. I will look into that.

 

We have both redirected file server for My Documents and OneDrive.

Posted
That's a good suggestion. I will look into that.

 

We have both redirected file server for My Documents and OneDrive.

 

Could there be confusion over where they are saving having two different redirects? With OneDrive we found an issue where pupils were logging off before the OneDrive client had synched fully so files were staying locally on the PC. We have also found that with AutoSave pupils have closed the document before it had saved fully, though this is mitigated with the latest iteration of Office as it gives you a warning. Though users have been known to ignore or not read a warning before.

 

None of the OneDrive possibilities explain why it is appearing on DPM though.

Posted
Could there be confusion over where they are saving having two different redirects? With OneDrive we found an issue where pupils were logging off before the OneDrive client had synched fully so files were staying locally on the PC. We have also found that with AutoSave pupils have closed the document before it had saved fully, though this is mitigated with the latest iteration of Office as it gives you a warning. Though users have been known to ignore or not read a warning before.

 

None of the OneDrive possibilities explain why it is appearing on DPM though.

 

Thanks for your feedback.

 

I don't think it relates to the issue we have as students are confident they are saving in their H drives only and the data is recoverable on DPM.

  • 9 months later...

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...