Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

Staff use Google Drive for files and more and more is being done on this instead of network fileshares.

Obviously I want files backed up.

What do people use to backup their Google Drives?

 

many thanks.

Posted
I don't - i just tell them if they choose to store data on the cloud, its not backed up, as tell them that they should be using the local network drives.
Posted
I don't - i just tell them if they choose to store data on the cloud, its not backed up, as tell them that they should be using the local network drives.

 

 

We are trying to ditch the network drives.

 

The problem you get is when staff share files or folders but dont set the correct permissions so then a person that it is shared with will make changes or delete something.

 

- - - Updated - - -

 

We currently use Spanning backup, they have an educational discounted version but have started to also look at Cubebackup which uses your own hdd space and so is a lot cheaper.

 

 

CubeBackup looks great and reasonably priced too. Im thinking of trying this out. Thanks.

Posted

Can understand needing backup if your going fully cloud.

However, we dont let staff create shared folders. We make them and assign permissions. Some has full access, other read only.

 

We are trying to ditch the network drives.

 

The problem you get is when staff share files or folders but dont set the correct permissions so then a person that it is shared with will make changes or delete something.

 

- - - Updated - - -

 

 

 

 

CubeBackup looks great and reasonably priced too. Im thinking of trying this out. Thanks.

  • Thanks 1
Posted

Although it's not a "real backup" in that regards as being separate to Google etc, isn't that what Google Vault does? Set a retention policy up for however long you want it to hold it, and then even if they delete it it'll be held until the retention passes. Same principle as email retention etc (At least in regards to the deleting aspect)

 

Steve

Posted
The problem you get is when staff share files or folders but dont set the correct permissions so then a person that it is shared with will make changes or delete something.

 

Yep just go into version history and revert back.

 

Get users not to empty their bin and if they need something they deleted it will be there to restore.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...