DavR Posted May 15, 2018 Posted May 15, 2018 (edited) Anyone else noticed this new "feature" with Chome 66? https://productforums.google.com/forum/#!topic/google-education/uzrm1GEX5us If you've got the "Erase all local user info, settings, and state after each sign-out" setting on for devices, you now get the "You've Signed In! Accept Google Sync etc" at every login:mad: The only way around this is to disable Google Sync, which means bookmarks, apps and extensions won't sync. So let the device fill up with user profiles, or disable syncing bookmarks etc, bit of a no-win choice that one! Very badly thought out design decision on Google's part, really doesn't take into account shared devices. We've only got fifteen Chromebooks, which could theoretically be used by 120 students, so we need the erase setting in place. Edited May 15, 2018 by DavR
Primus Posted May 15, 2018 Posted May 15, 2018 To be honest I'm not sure you need the erase setting on - we're a large secondary school with potentially many hundreds of kids using each set of Chromebooks each week since we're not 1:1 and we never see any problems without the erase setting turned on.
DavR Posted May 15, 2018 Author Posted May 15, 2018 Oh really? Interesting to note. With it being so hard to actually view the storage on Chromebooks, and how much each profile takes up, I've erred on the side of caution. Even with that setting off though, each student will still be asked once per device they log on to, and rarely will they be using the same device. I've killed of Google Sync for now and I'll see how we go.
Primus Posted May 15, 2018 Posted May 15, 2018 Hmmm, I've not seen this happening or had any reports from users so I'm going to have to grab a couple of Chromebooks I've not used before and try them. That thread on the GfE forum says it only happens with the erase setting turned on.
DavR Posted May 15, 2018 Author Posted May 15, 2018 That thread on the GfE forum says it only happens with the erase setting turned on. Well, maybe I have got that bit wrong. But the logic appears to be once for every new profile, and surely each new device would be a new profile. Why they felt the need for this to be a pop 'Accept and Continue' box at this point I don't know!
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now