Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

Hey Guys

 

So the deputy has asked me to remove all the student's accounts that are no longer here. They have been disabled so are unusable but he want's me to remove them completely off the system.

 

The reason I've been disabling people is because I'm sure I read somewhere on here (or have been told) that you have to keep students data for a number of years after they have left. Is this the case?

 

Thankyou!!

Posted

There's no harm in deleting the accounts (and documents) if you have them on backup/archive etc

 

But I think officially it's only their MIS data that "needs" to be kept etc.

 

Steve

Posted

We delete users accounts after they have been gone a month or two, but all their user data is still held on our backup server for at least another year in case they require any files.

 

However after 18 years I've only ever had 1 request for files after someone has left, and that was a member of the LT who moved on and wanted some schemes of work.

Posted
No point in deleting them completely other than space and housekeeping. If they're disabled it should be enough. No harm in getting rid, but archive their documents. Only issue may be with Exchange/O365 - the mailboxes will be purged after the retention period if they disconnected, and data that's needed may then be lost. I tend to keep the accounts for at least a year.
Posted (edited)

We are starting to encourage people to save to Office 365. With emails I found to archive to do a remote move of their O365 mailbox to our local exchange server (Sitting there doing nothing, so might as well use for archiving), but does anyone have any recommendations of OneDrive areas?

 

We are planning to keep user accounts in O365, but disabled and kept for a year after they leave, so should give them enough time to get anything off after they leave or as E1 for education is free, to keep accounts for a longer time and just keep them disabled?

Edited by MrFrostmaul
Posted

Emails are wiped, sync with MIs and LGFL disables them once they are leavers.

 

PC logins - Yr11 and 13 leavers work is copied to a NAS drive, once they have their results and the retest date has passed I will delete their accounts in mid September but retain their work on the NAS till Easter time.

 

For students who leave mid term, account is disabled and then I zap the account after a month or so.

 

For Staff, again I disable the account and depending on amount stored either archive or zap without taking a copy. Most of the MY Doc files are day to day stuff not SOW or the like.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...