Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

Hi

 

We've just discovered a group of students have been using a Google Classroom and having Google Meets amongst themselves, even though it is disabled for students in the admin console! The Classroom is a historical one from 2018 so I can only presume we'd not set for staff only at that point. The Meets I'm not so sure how they've managed to get set up. I've found the Meet code they've been using and managed to track it down to a teacher so I'm presuming it's to do with how that teacher has set it up and potentially not ended it correctly. They've just used that code to enter that Meet. Is there a way of disabling 'old' Meets so students can't do this?

 

Anyone else come across this? Anyone found a solution? I'm not sure if the paid versions of Google Workspace allow you to lock down more...

 

Thanks

Posted
I've found the Meet code they've been using and managed to track it down to a teacher so I'm presuming it's to do with how that teacher has set it up and potentially not ended it correctly

 

If you enter that room now, you should be able to turn off Quick Access, which will stop anyone else getting back in.

 

Admins getting the ability to do that soon too.

  • Thanks 1
Posted

The students had worked out they could go back into an old Meet set in Show My Homework - little toads! Fortunately they did it on a day we'd set as offline teaching for staff/students so it was picked up quickly.

 

We really need a way of purging old Meets in the Google Admin...

Posted
We really need a way of purging old Meets in the Google Admin...

 

They've announced it's coming. No release date set as yet. Admins will be able to close Meets from the Meet Quality Tool.

Posted
They've announced it's coming. No release date set as yet. Admins will be able to close Meets from the Meet Quality Tool.

 

Dont meetings close anyway after a period of time? I know our users have the option to end meetings for everyone now atleast so its been less of an issue for a couple of weeks

Posted
Dont meetings close anyway after a period of time? I know our users have the option to end meetings for everyone now atleast so its been less of an issue for a couple of weeks

They do if they're not re-entered after a certain number of days (I think its 180 days) but the moment someone goes back in, it resets the clock again. You can always go into the Meet and turn off quick access as a solution.

Posted
They do if they're not re-entered after a certain number of days (I think its 180 days) but the moment someone goes back in, it resets the clock again. You can always go into the Meet and turn off quick access as a solution.

disnt realise it was that long!

Posted
If you enter that room now, you should be able to turn off Quick Access, which will stop anyone else getting back in.

Admins getting the ability to do that soon too.

I've done that now thanks!

Posted
Thinking out loud is there some way of listing all meets on a domain (I've not looked) ? If so put them in a blocklist on the filter ?

You can download them form the Meet Quality Tool, or audit in Google Admin but if you blocked all of them via the filtering it would block the ones that teachers are using too?

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...