BlueSkies Posted October 11, 2020 Posted October 11, 2020 Hi there, I have the Google Classroom app installed on my phone and in one of the classrooms in the People section, under the Students list there is an entry for "Unknown User". If I go to the same Classroom on my web browser, I cannot see the unknown user. Is this just something funny with the app, or is there someone who has tried to join the classroom?
Steve21 Posted October 11, 2020 Posted October 11, 2020 I'm sure I read about that before where it's a user who's been deleted/left class etc that the app sometimes gets in a tiffy. Do you know if any students were removed/left recently? Steve 1
aicrd Posted October 11, 2020 Posted October 11, 2020 I get a lot of Unknown Users and its usually down to the Name and Surname fields not being populated in AD so when they get synced to Google it just auto assigns that name to them. Could that be whats going on here? 1
BlueSkies Posted October 11, 2020 Author Posted October 11, 2020 I'm sure I read about that before where it's a user who's been deleted/left class etc that the app sometimes gets in a tiffy. Do you know if any students were removed/left recently? Steve As far as I know, no-one has left or been removed ... I will uninstall and re-install the app to see if that sorts it out. If it's just a funny app thing, that's fine ... I was just a bit worried that someone from outside our organisation had managed to join one of our classrooms - but as I can't see them in the web version, I don't think that's the case!
BlueSkies Posted October 11, 2020 Author Posted October 11, 2020 I get a lot of Unknown Users and its usually down to the Name and Surname fields not being populated in AD so when they get synced to Google it just auto assigns that name to them. Could that be whats going on here? Good shout .. but I don't think that's happened here as our user accounts were created by uploading a .csv, so no syncing takes place. Name and surname fields are all populated - so I don't think there are any gaps. I will uninstall and reinstall the app to see if that sorts it out ...
jthompson Posted October 12, 2020 Posted October 12, 2020 If a student removes themselves from a class or has their account disabled, their user data remains in Classroom in this way. If they rejoin the class or have their account reactivated, they slot back into their original place again, under their name. 1
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now