Jump to content

Can you move (Migrate) Google My Drive FOLDERS to Shared Drives?


Recommended Posts

Posted

Long story short. We need to migrate a users My Drive to a Shared (Team) Drive.

 

This user has a organised folder structure (SHOCK HORROR). I can migrate individual files to a Shared (Team) drive. But i want to migrate a folder, its substructure and any files that are in it.

 

I can't seem to do this. Am i missing something?

 

Thanks in advance.

Posted
Long story short. We need to migrate a users My Drive to a Shared (Team) Drive.This user has a organised folder structure (SHOCK HORROR). I can migrate individual files to a Shared (Team) drive. But i want to migrate a folder, its substructure and any files that are in it.I can't seem to do this. Am i missing something?Thanks in advance.
if i remember right theres am option in the admin panel to restrict migrations. i know i can move stuff from my drive to a shared drive without issue
Posted
if i remember right theres am option in the admin panel to restrict migrations. i know i can move stuff from my drive to a shared drive without issue

 

Isnt that for files only though, not folders

Posted

I think you need a particular admin privilege to be able to migrate folders into a Shared Drive. You can create a custom admin role to assign to the user, with the role just having that one particular privilege.

 

See the last section of this: https://support.google.com/a/answer/7374057.

 

Alternatively, share the necessary folders with an admin account that is also included in the Shared Drive, so that it can be done by that user instead.

  • Thanks 1
Posted
I think you need a particular admin privilege to be able to migrate folders into a Shared Drive. You can create a custom admin role to assign to the user, with the role just having that one particular privilege.

 

See the last section of this: https://support.google.com/a/answer/7374057.

 

Alternatively, share the necessary folders with an admin account that is also included in the Shared Drive, so that it can be done by that user instead.

 

Excellent, i'll look into this and report back.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...