Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

What is the rationale for disabling vault?

 

If staff are using G Suite to communicate with students then you would need to have an alternative to vault to retrieve emails if they are deleted in case of any allegations etc.

Posted
What is the rationale for disabling vault?

This carries on from some other posts but Vaultt probably does not meet GDPR / DP requirements, at least not that I can work out.

 

For example, email 1 needs to be kept for 1 year but email 2 needs to be kept for 10. Vault retention would need to be set for 10 years, anything less and Vault would go in a delete the email that needs to be kept for 10 years. This then means that the email that need to be deleted after 1 year can only be done manually. Lets say the teachers does go and delete the email after 1 year, Vault will still have that email for another 9 years in its system, which means the school are not following the GDPR / DP requirements.

 

If staff are using G Suite to communicate with students then you would need to have an alternative to vault to retrieve emails if they are deleted in case of any allegations etc.

This is the bit I am not sure about. I am assuming GDPR / DP comes before allegations / audit.

Posted

So I have decided to disable Vault. My one question is - Are there any knock on issues when disabling Vault for the domain and any current emails or Drive / Team Drive files?

 

If I disable Vault it's not going to go in and delete current files or emails? Sure I know the answer but just want to check first.

Posted
This carries on from some other posts but Vaultt probably does not meet GDPR / DP requirements, at least not that I can work out.

 

Safeguarding trumps both.

Posted
How are you disabling it? If you're just turning the app off in G Suite Admin, I doubt that would prevent it functioning in the background as normal: it'd just mean the app isn't available to any users.
Posted (edited)
Safeguarding trumps both

And what does safeguarding have to say about using something like Vault, which keeps data longer than the retention period required.

 

Vault is GDPR compliant - why do you think it isn't?

How can something that by default will keep documents that have already been deleted by a users be compliant? Take my post No3 above as an example.

 

EDIT - Added bit below

How are you disabling it? If you're just turning the app off in G Suite Admin, I doubt that would prevent it functioning in the background as normal: it'd just mean the app isn't available to any users.

Yes I would be disabling Vault for the entire domain. Why would it keep functioning if I have disabled it?

 

EDIT #2 - oh disabling Vault just restricts who has access, hmmmm

Edited by TwistedHelixis
Posted
And what does safeguarding have to say about using something like Vault, which keeps data longer than the retention period required.

How can something that by default will keep documents that have already been deleted by a users be compliant? Take my post No3 above as an example.

 

Because you set a data retention policy and control how long files that have been deleted are kept - this is not against GDPR.

Posted
OK - so if I un ticked the option 'Set a default retention Rule' would that be a bit like disabling Vault. Currently the school has retention rules set to indefinitely, what I would like is for data in Vault to get deleted when it get s deleted by a user or soon after.
Posted
Because you set a data retention policy and control how long files that have been deleted are kept

But I have been told more than once that retention rules control the retention of files held by users, not just the files they have deleted. So if you have a retention rule of 1 year, Vault will go in and delete any emails or documents it finds that are over 1 year old, even if they are not in the bin.

Posted
But I have been told more than once that retention rules control the retention of files held by users, not just the files they have deleted. So if you have a retention rule of 1 year, Vault will go in and delete any emails or documents it finds that are over 1 year old, even if they are not in the bin.

 

No you can control this - have you been into vault as the UI is quite clear.

Posted (edited)

Well I am still confused.

 

I was told this yesterday

Vault will purge data from user accounts that falls outside the configured retention period. So if you set it to 1 year, emails older than this will be removed from your whole domain.

 

So can you talk me through setting Vault up so it only keeps emails or documents for 6 months after they have been deleted, but does not go in and delete all current emails & documents that are over 6 month old.

 

EDIT - BTW the info I was told yesterday I was also told by Google over the phone.

Edited by TwistedHelixis
Posted
For example, email 1 needs to be kept for 1 year but email 2 needs to be kept for 10. Vault retention would need to be set for 10 years, anything less and Vault would go in a delete the email that needs to be kept for 10 years. This then means that the email that need to be deleted after 1 year can only be done manually. Lets say the teachers does go and delete the email after 1 year, Vault will still have that email for another 9 years in its system

 

Might this address that problem for you? (I haven't tested so don't know for sure).

 

Set up your default retention rule for emails to be 10 years, with the 'Expunge all messages' option selected.

Then add a custom rule for emails that is 1 year, but this time with the 'Expunge only the messages that users have already deleted' option selected.

 

That way, if a user deletes an email, it will only hang around in Vault for 1 year after it was sent, not 10. Emails that the user doesn't delete stay around for the full 10 years.

  • Thanks 1
Posted

Jeepers, When you select a date it reveals all the other options. I never bothered selecting a data as there was no point if I could not choose what to keep or delete. You only get those options when you select the date, DOH.

 

Now it makes sense

Posted
Jeepers, When you select a date it reveals all the other options. I never bothered selecting a data as there was no point if I could not choose what to keep or delete. You only get those options when you select the date, DOH.

 

Now it makes sense

 

Sounds like I need to revisit Google Vault too, in that case!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...