robbied69 Posted February 15, 2008 Posted February 15, 2008 Has anyone removed the 'default user' folder in NETLOGON share before? Does anyone know what the result of this would be. Thanks
Michael Posted February 15, 2008 Posted February 15, 2008 I don't have a default user folder in my NETLOGON share. What's contained within the folder?
DMcCoy Posted February 15, 2008 Posted February 15, 2008 It's the first place windows looks when it creates a new profile, so it will copy the contents to the machine if it exists. If you don't want it being used as a profile you can remove it or change security so that only certain groups can access it for example.
Michael Posted February 15, 2008 Posted February 15, 2008 You learn something new everyday, thanks DMcCoy
DMcCoy Posted February 15, 2008 Posted February 15, 2008 I should say that this applies to the "Default User" Folder within netlogon. Do NOT delete the netlogon folder itself
Michael Posted February 15, 2008 Posted February 15, 2008 I agree, don't delete the NETLOGON share. Afterall, where would you place logon scripts and BGInfo (if you use it)?
robbied69 Posted February 15, 2008 Author Posted February 15, 2008 I agree, don't delete the NETLOGON share. Afterall, where would you place logon scripts and BGInfo (if you use it)? Yea, don't worry wouldn't delete the share folder, just the 'default user' folder. I take it then if there is no 'default user' folder inside this share, it will use the 'default user' profile on the local machine.
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now