Hi,
We have been investigating all our devices saving the backups to a single network share using the option “DefaultBackupPath” with value like \\server100\ExamBackup$, rather than keeping them locally on the devices.
However, in testing we have found that this would mean that the candidates would be able to see each other’s work by using the "Restore Previous" button when the software starts. We are happy to disable the "Restore Previous" button meaning that an admin would need to get the files out of the share if they are needed, I but cannot find a setting that will do this.
There is "PreviousVersionsRecoveryMinutesDisplay” but this can only have a minimum value of 1 although you can enter and save 0 which appears to do the job we need but next time you go back to "PreviousVersionsRecoveryMinutesDisplay” there is a validation error and the value is reset back to 60. So this appears to work to a fashion but I would say this was unsupported.
The final idea I had was to use a path in “DefaultBackupPath” which contained an environmental variable like \\server100\ExamBackup$\%COMPUTERNAME% so that the file was saved in a different folder for each computer within the share.
Any ideas of a supported way of saving previous versions to a network share but not have the previous versions of files visible to the candidates?