I can see why you got confused, the tool hasn't got the friendliest interface I've ever come cross. From the sounds of it you have done everything correctly, deselect the OUs you don't want to sync from your local AD and then run a full synchronisation to pull the changes through to Azure AD.
Removing items from your local AD will remove them from the Azure AD, it doesn't work the other way round.