Jump to content
EduGeek EdSec 2026 is Go! 27th Oct in Derby! Join us for a day of EdTech security focused talks, networking, and an evening social ×

Remove Items To Synchronize In Synchronization Settings


Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

I have a situation which may take a little setting up, so please bear with me. We use Symantec Ghost to image/update our workstations and laptops. A little while ago the imaging server crashed taking the images with it (Why no backup I hear you cry: Well that's another issue for another day)

 

I am now recovering the lost images by taking stations, syspreping them and capturing the syspreped state. This works well except where a laptop is allocated to a specific member of staff. I cannot remove/delete the last owners' synchronization settings. Logged on as that user, logged on as domain administrator, logged on as laptop administrator. Nothing works.

 

I have thought of taking the tick out that says make availible off line, but it is greyed out. I have taken out the ticks in tools/folder options/Offline Files restarted logged on again and the re-enabled off line files: The old setting come back. I have even hunted down the registry keys and deleted them.

 

Upon restarting and logging on again the synchronize setting have been recreated. What else can I try?

Edited by 6Foot2
Correct formatting errors
Posted
Have you tried deleting all previous users and local profiles and disable offline files before the sysprep / create image task?

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...