Rob446 Posted February 1, 2021 Posted February 1, 2021 (edited) Here's a weird one, and one that I doubt we'll get any help from Google from, as we're on the free version of G Suite. Teachers are recording live lessons for their own records. They are not supposed to be sharing these recordings with any pupils. They should remain in the teacher's Google Drive, and can be shared with their line manager or the SLT, etc. Some of these lessons are now showing as being owned by pupils, and appear in their Google Drive. The teacher who recorded them has access to view, but not edit or delete. In some cases the student is part of the class, but some they're not even in the same year group. Students do not have permission to record the lessons themselves. They do have permission to store videos in their Google Drive as some lessons are pre-recorded and shared to them. Has anyone else experienced this? Or any ideas on why this is happening and how to rectify? I can't even get into the students' Google Drive to delete the video myself unless I change their password, which kicks them out of whatever lesson they happen to be in at the time. Is there a way to get into Google Drive as an admin without having to do that? Edited February 1, 2021 by Rob446
pugrick_31 Posted February 1, 2021 Posted February 1, 2021 I have a slight feeling this might be because the Google Meet session was started by the student and not the member of staff. If they start the meeting then they become the owner of the Meet session and not the member of staff who organised. We've had the same sort of issue but not all of our classes are recorded so it's a rare occurrence. Don't have a fix for it yet felt this might help point you in the right direction. 2
Koldov Posted February 1, 2021 Posted February 1, 2021 This thread might help...? http://www.edugeek.net/forums/educational-software/219767-google-classroom-meet-recording-owned-someone-else.html Not sure why pupils who aren't even in the same year group (and so presumably are not in the lesson/meet) have the recording... are you sure they haven't been given the link by another pupil or sibling and joined anyway? I don't know what access an admin has to user's Google Drive files (be interested to know though) - maybe do it out of lesson times? 1
Rob446 Posted February 1, 2021 Author Posted February 1, 2021 Sibling could be the answer. Shared devices. Good idea!
Koldov Posted February 1, 2021 Posted February 1, 2021 Hope you got some more ideas from the other thread. Main gist was locking down some other settings and about disallowing recording in the students OU, below are the main points I found, but Google might have changed some things since then: "The issue you describe is usually due to your IT dept (the domain admin) having given students the same permissions to create Meets as the Teachers. This means if they enter a 'nicknamed' or 'classroom' created Meet before the teacher, the first person entering will 'own' the Meet, and be able to mute and remove others, and accept requests to join from those outside of your domain. They will also own the recording. In the Meet settings, the admin needs to switch off the ability of students to create/start video calls. If the students are in a separate Organisational Unit to the students, this should be fairly easy for them to do. " Meanwhile, one 'workaround' to prevent students from owning a Meet, is to not use the Classroom link, but to only paste it as announcement in the Classroom, once you have already opened the Meet. and... The Meet is actually only created when the link is used, and the creator becomes the owner, they don't need to even enter/join the meet ahead of the teacher.
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now