TwistedHelixis Posted March 16, 2020 Posted March 16, 2020 A while ago I shared some files in my Google Drive with our all_teachers group. This worked fine at the time but when a new teacher starts they are not getting the shared files in their 'Shared with me' drive unless I share them directly with that teacher again. Is there a way of getting the shared files to show up for any new teachers that are in the all_teachers group?
RLR Posted March 16, 2020 Posted March 16, 2020 Not unless you share it again. It might be best to create a shared drive area that is shared with that group so they always have access. Alternatively, you can use a GAM/powershell script to share the files/folders on schedule. 1
TwistedHelixis Posted March 16, 2020 Author Posted March 16, 2020 It might be best to create a shared drive area that is shared with that group so they always have access. Unfortunately not an option as these files are also for the website and set with Public access. We restrict our Shared Drives to internal only. I don't have GAM setup yet, so will probably just add the individual teachers as needed. Cheers
K-ITS Posted March 16, 2020 Posted March 16, 2020 When we have new members of staff joining I just remove and re-add the all staff email but untick the notification setting. Seems to be the easiest way of doing it I've found. 1
TwistedHelixis Posted March 16, 2020 Author Posted March 16, 2020 When we have new members of staff joining I just remove and re-add the all staff email but untick the notification setting. Seems to be the easiest way of doing it I've found. That sounds like a good plan :0)
TwistedHelixis Posted March 17, 2020 Author Posted March 17, 2020 When we have new members of staff joining I just remove and re-add the all staff email but untick the notification setting. What happens doing the above, if a teacher has moved the folder or files into the 'My Drive' area, do they need to move it back again?
K-ITS Posted March 17, 2020 Posted March 17, 2020 So Far I havent seen any evidence it causes any major issues, as long as you dont revoke it and wait a while. I just remove and re-add in one go.
jmak Posted March 17, 2020 Posted March 17, 2020 Would it be better to create a Shared Drive? (Formerly known as Team Drives in GSuite.)
K-ITS Posted March 18, 2020 Posted March 18, 2020 Would it be better to create a Shared Drive? (Formerly known as Team Drives in GSuite.) Sadly you have to do the same with Shared Drives. Google doesnt seem to update groups once they have been added, so the only way i've found is to add them again.
bald_pig Posted March 18, 2020 Posted March 18, 2020 Sadly you have to do the same with Shared Drives. Google doesnt seem to update groups once they have been added, so the only way i've found is to add them again. At my last place we added groups to shared drives and had no issues at all with adding and removing people from the groups?
RLR Posted March 18, 2020 Posted March 18, 2020 At my last place we added groups to shared drives and had no issues at all with adding and removing people from the groups? Yep, shared drives permissions are based on members of the group. Adding / removing people will update the permissions.
K-ITS Posted March 18, 2020 Posted March 18, 2020 At my last place we added groups to shared drives and had no issues at all with adding and removing people from the groups? Removing people works but for some reason when I have added new users they have claimed they cant see them.... (might be a 'User Error' rather than Google!)
TwistedHelixis Posted March 18, 2020 Author Posted March 18, 2020 Adding new users to a group does not work for us, I just tested it and the user did not have access to the shared folder. Perhaps removing / adding the group just makes things happen a bit faster and I just need to be more patient. TBH, what with all this school closure stuff going on at the moment I have zero time for testing stuff like this.
RLR Posted March 19, 2020 Posted March 19, 2020 Adding new users to a group does not work for us, I just tested it and the user did not have access to the shared folder. Perhaps removing / adding the group just makes things happen a bit faster and I just need to be more patient. TBH, what with all this school closure stuff going on at the moment I have zero time for testing stuff like this. I think people are getting confused or not understanding shared folder != shared drive. Sharing a folder with a group and add / deleting people from that group will not update the permissions. Using a Shared Drive using a group will keep permissions up to date.
TwistedHelixis Posted March 19, 2020 Author Posted March 19, 2020 think people are getting confused or not understanding shared folder I do wish Google had not renamed Team Drives to Shared drives, as we now have 3 similarly named items. Shared folders Shared Drives Shared with me
jmak Posted March 19, 2020 Posted March 19, 2020 I do wish Google had not renamed Team Drives to Shared drives, as we now have 3 similarly named items. Shared folders Shared Drives Shared with meAgreed. Team Drives as a name made sense to me, but perhaps they were trying to differentiate from Microsoft Teams.
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now