Jawloms Posted October 11, 2018 Posted October 11, 2018 (edited) Our reprographics machine is a Sharp MX-7040N and we've recently had it where when the repro lady is out of the room, someone is going in, stopping the big print run which is happening and doing their own bits. The repro lady is getting quite cross about it as she has no idea how far through the run the job was etc.... Does anyone know if we can stop people just hitting the button to look at the queue and then pressing "Stop/delete"? We use Papercut, but I believe this option is in the printer itself, not a Papercut thing as you don't have to log in to that bit to get to "Stop/delete". Thank you Stuart Edited October 11, 2018 by Jawloms
TLARWise Posted October 11, 2018 Posted October 11, 2018 I haven't had a try myself but on our Sharp MX6580 printer in the printer settings system settings>common settings>enable/disable settings there are options for 'disabling of job priority operation' and 'disabling of bypass printing' which are on the same screen as the cancel printing button so i don't know if they will affect that as well. 1
Jawloms Posted October 11, 2018 Author Posted October 11, 2018 I found that, but sadly it is simply for the priority bit, they can still delete. Plus, we still want the repro lady to be able to delete/stop jobs, it's just every other so-and-so we want not to.
MatthewL Posted October 11, 2018 Posted October 11, 2018 As far as I am aware there is no way to disable this, what you should do is educate your users about using the priority button just below the stop/delete jobs, this will enable them to do what they want and then carry on where the last job was. It will finish the the few pages or booklet its on and then do the job you have just processed.
Jawloms Posted October 12, 2018 Author Posted October 12, 2018 As far as I am aware there is no way to disable this, what you should do is educate your users about using the priority button just below the stop/delete jobs, this will enable them to do what they want and then carry on where the last job was. It will finish the the few pages or booklet its on and then do the job you have just processed. Been there, tried that.....
HTCPCP Posted October 12, 2018 Posted October 12, 2018 I don't get end users sometimes. Hmmm, a printer is clearly doing a job for someone - oh well, better delete it as that way I can print out my Sudoku/picture of a cat. Is the repro machine in a seperate room away from anyone else - if so, the easiest way would be a lock on the door. I would advise against removing the delete function from the printer, as if something goes wrong (i.e. done a photocopy job, but the photocopy isn't coming out straight etc). That or a camera in the room to catch the little .
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now