Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

Hi,

does applying this to a machine via GP delete the contents of the desktop on the machine which were saving locally?

 

thanks

Posted

No. The original desktop icons will still be in the same place (either the "All users" or currently logged on users desktop folders can still have stuff in them). Nothing will be deleted.

 

Unless you have the "Suppress the All User desktop and start menu" option checked windows should show the icons saved in both "all users" desktop folder and your redirect. The original "c:\users\username\desktop" folder will just be ignored.

 

As to whether applying this policy to the PC instead of the user will actually work, I don't know. We've always done folder redirects with the user polices.

Posted

Where are you redirecting the desktop to? Sounds obvious but if you redirect to an empty folder then you won't see anything on the desktop as the folder doesn't have anything to put on.

All your doing is changing the file path the computer uses for the desktop.

Posted
rob, fixed it, many thanks for your help, files still there in users original location. If the move files to new location option is ticked on folder redirection would it have copied these over?
Posted

As I think you've just found, the key point is making sure the "Move the contents of Desktop to the new location" option is ticked.

 

I've retrospectively added desktop redirection to quite a few networks in the past, and as long as this is ticked, and the new redirected desktop folder is writable by the user, files stored on the desktop have copied over just fine.

 

My preferred method is to disable saving on the desktop completely, but that's not always popular!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...