karldenton Posted April 10, 2014 Posted April 10, 2014 (edited) Hi, We map network drives via logon script. I've moved some shares across to a new server and also created a new share. I've changed the logon script. When a teacher logs on its picking up the new share correctly as a mapped drive but the one that i've just moved has a red cross against it. I've unshared the old share hence the red cross but its not mapped the new one? Any ideas? the share has everyone with full control and correct ntfs permissions but they can't browse to the share but going into network in my computer they can get it? Thanks Edited April 10, 2014 by karldenton
network41 Posted April 10, 2014 Posted April 10, 2014 The easiest way is just to ask users to right click on old connection and select disconnect
karldenton Posted April 10, 2014 Author Posted April 10, 2014 Thanks. I've just changed the drive letter on the logon script to a different one than the old one used and it works fine. Its there a script to delete the old connections before mapping new ones?
fairm010 Posted April 10, 2014 Posted April 10, 2014 I had this last week after moving our staff shared area. It was cached in the users profile. Deleted, logged back on, all good!
network41 Posted April 10, 2014 Posted April 10, 2014 Think you can use a wildcard to delete them all at once but I have never used this so test first NET USE * /d /y
fairm010 Posted April 10, 2014 Posted April 10, 2014 Think you can use a wildcard to delete them all at once but I have never used this so test first NET USE * /d /y Yep, that works too.
karldenton Posted April 10, 2014 Author Posted April 10, 2014 Brilliant everyone thanks. Got it sorted deleting the old one on logon
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now