Jump to content

Network Printers re-adding themsevles after deletion, help!


Recommended Posts

Posted

We have a problem with one of our desktop student images. It lists 2 network printers in the school. If i ghost the image to a desktop the first time you log on the printers are there, even tho im logging on locally and they are not in the corresponding classroom OU anyway. If you delete them, reboot, even with the network cable out and logging back on locally they re-add themsevles.

 

So somewhere in the image there seems to be something to force these printers to be installed and added. This has caused trouble as the image was deployed before noticing this so now it sets one of these 2 printers it shouldnt have installed as default so the poor IT teacher is getting half the school printing to his printer by accident every day.

 

Before i contemplate creating a new image from fresh (which will be a big job) i wondered if anyone knew where in windows there may be a link or reference to these 2 printers that i can remove so that they are gone for good?

Posted
I imagine most people will need a few more details about your network before an answer can be guessed at. Peer-to-peer? Client server? Server 2003 / 2003R2 / 2008?
Posted (edited)

client server 2003.

 

Thinking about it i think when i created the image i made it with it still sitting in the room 91 OU, so it had both room 91 printers in the printer list. I think thats where they came from but i would still of expected that if they were deleted from the image that when they were put into a new OU that they should only map the printers for that OU and not the 2 from 91 which it would not be sat in.

 

confusing i know, sorry!

Edited by farquea
Posted
I would guess the printers are probably now embedded in the default user or all users profile. When a new user logs on, a new profile will be created and the printers will re appear.
Posted

If the problem is in the profile [and if you feel confident that you can edit the profile] you can use Regedt32, load a hive find the problem elimibate it and unload the hive again. Upon unload the changes made are automatically saved.

 

Or create a new profile?

Posted

the user profile its appearing in is the Administrator, which is obviously why its then forcing the printer to every user who logs on in any school either locally or on the network.

 

So the question is how do i reset the Admin profile? cos im assuming you cant just delete the user profile.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...