Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

I have my own personal laptop which my wife used one day as her work one was broken. My wife logged into onedrive with school account and now on my laptop I have a onedrive folder filled with subject related resources (no PII). Her work laptop is now working again and I need to delete these files from the laptop but dont want it to sync back to onedrive and delete them there too.

 

As you can guess I am not a onedrive user so I have no idea how to do this. Any help would be appreciated.

Posted
I'd presume the first thing would be to ensure you've signed your wife's account out of the OneDrive app. Without an account linked, the OneDrive client can't sync the changes back to the cloud. Anything that is deleted from OneDrive, even via sync back is restorable via the recycle bin. Alternatively, you could always move them to another location on the C:\ drive to check to see if it does delete the items online or not. If it does, at least you still have them to restore. Or alternatively alternatively, you could manually upload all the files to a backup folder in her OneDrive via the web interface, rather than the app. It may double up the files, but at least they aren't deleted. She can then delete the folder after some time.to
  • Thanks 1
Posted
I'd presume the first thing would be to ensure you've signed your wife's account out of the OneDrive app. Without an account linked, the OneDrive client can't sync the changes back to the cloud. Anything that is deleted from OneDrive, even via sync back is restorable via the recycle bin. Alternatively, you could always move them to another location on the C:\ drive to check to see if it does delete the items online or not. If it does, at least you still have them to restore. Or alternatively alternatively, you could manually upload all the files to a backup folder in her OneDrive via the web interface, rather than the app. It may double up the files, but at least they aren't deleted. She can then delete the folder after some time.to

 

signed out of the account straightaway and there was an option to unlink this pc which I selected. I assumed that this would allow me to delete the files but it didnt. Dont really want to connect back up to her account as it will then sync new changes and take up even more space on my laptop!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...