Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted
Does the $RECYCLE.BIN folder in each user's home folder automatically delete the contents after a certain period of time. I know by default, home versions of Windows will delete contents in the recycle bin after 30 days, but I'm finding massive recycle bin folders in our user's home folders. Is this something that is configurable in Server 2022? I know I can go and use a file/folder explorer like WhizzTree to do this, but I'd like to have it automated if possible!
Posted

By default it won’t

 

You’d either need to setup storage sense policy (recycle bin being one of the options), or you can do a script on home folder server to scan over and delete them from each folder

 

Steve

  • Thanks 1
Posted

Gah! Delayed by a sales call and beaten to it.

 

I'll add a warning, though: There have been horror stories about people doing this and getting complaints from staff/management that all their important files they keep in the Recycle Bin have gone.

  • Thanks 1
Posted
By default it won’t

 

You’d either need to setup storage sense policy (recycle bin being one of the options), or you can do a script on home folder server to scan over and delete them from each folder

 

Steve

Cheers. I can now see that there are storage sense GPO policies, which I'll probably apply to my file server. My Google-Fu well and truly failed me and I was getting results for home versions of Windows or other recovery software!

 

 

Gah! Delayed by a sales call and beaten to it.

 

I'll add a warning, though: There have been horror stories about people doing this and getting complaints from staff/management that all their important files they keep in the Recycle Bin have gone.

I hope this won't be the case for us, though we can resort back to our EOY backup, or termly backups we take at Christmas and Easter. Failing that, it's going to a learning exercise for them.

Posted
Cheers. I can now see that there are storage sense GPO policies, which I'll probably apply to my file server. My Google-Fu well and truly failed me and I was getting results for home versions of Windows or other recovery software!

 

 

 

I hope this won't be the case for us, though we can resort back to our EOY backup, or termly backups we take at Christmas and Easter. Failing that, it's going to a learning exercise for them.

 

The policy for storage sense is for the end users/computers. Not server as simple as that would be :p

 

It effectively empties their recycle bin when logged on, same as if it was dehydrated one drive

 

Steve

  • Thanks 1
Posted
The policy for storage sense is for the end users/computers. Not server as simple as that would be :p

 

It effectively empties their recycle bin when logged on, same as if it was dehydrated one drive

 

Steve

Oh, so I don't apply that policy to the servers themselves, but the actual user/machine? Now I'm wondering which of the two it would be best applying to. I'm going to assume user, so I have more control to who it applies to.

Posted
I'm finding that the $RECYCLE.BIN folder in our user's home folders are not being emptied by storage sense. I have specified the seting to be 1 day, just to clear everything out and then I'd set it as 30 days, but I can see one user's $RECYCLE.BIN is still 34GB with some files last modified in 2016.
Posted
I'm finding that the $RECYCLE.BIN folder in our user's home folders are not being emptied by storage sense. I have specified the seting to be 1 day, just to clear everything out and then I'd set it as 30 days, but I can see one user's $RECYCLE.BIN is still 34GB with some files last modified in 2016.

 

Has that user logged on (while storage sense has been run on a computer?)

 

Don’t forget it’s random when it clears things, it’s not like you log in and it instantly runs, it’s part of when the normal storage sense is scheduled to run- setting 1 day just means when it runs it’ll process things in the bin that are over 1 day old

 

Might be easier if you just lost everything you configured with so far :p

 

Steve

  • Thanks 1
Posted
Has that user logged on (while storage sense has been run on a computer?)

 

Don’t forget it’s random when it clears things, it’s not like you log in and it instantly runs, it’s part of when the normal storage sense is scheduled to run- setting 1 day just means when it runs it’ll process things in the bin that are over 1 day old

 

Might be easier if you just lost everything you configured with so far :p

 

Steve

I've set it to run every day and delete items older than one day. That user is definitely in today and is logged into multiple computers. I could just manually delete all the items myself, but I'd like to get the automated process working if possible!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...