Sonic007 Posted January 11, 2022 Posted January 11, 2022 I had to remove all of one year group's user accounts from Gsuite and have since then re-imported a csv file with the updated students. Some students are the same. So let's say I removed one and it was jsmith. I then added a new csv of accounts including one being jsmith again. Now if I try and sign in with jsmith, it is saying "This account was recently deleted and may be recoverable. Click Next to attempt to restore this account." Is there a way for me to get rid of the old accounts I deleted instead of Google saving them in case they want to be restored? Thanks all.
jthompson Posted January 11, 2022 Posted January 11, 2022 I had to remove all of one year group's user accounts from Gsuite and have since then re-imported a csv file with the updated students. Some students are the same. So let's say I removed one and it was jsmith. I then added a new csv of accounts including one being jsmith again. Now if I try and sign in with jsmith, it is saying "This account was recently deleted and may be recoverable. Click Next to attempt to restore this account." Is there a way for me to get rid of the old accounts I deleted instead of Google saving them in case they want to be restored? Thanks all. You may need to wait a certain number of days after deleting the old account before it's fully purged. Google allows you to recover recently deleted accounts, which is what it sounds like could be happening in your case. You could maybe test that if you can remember the account name of an account you deleted last year or something. This article says that accounts are recoverable for up to 20 days after being deleted. https://apps.google.com/supportwidget/articlehome?article_url=https%3A%2F%2Fsupport.google.com%2Fa%2Fanswer%2F1397578&assistant_event=welcome&assistant_id=!yo1I78BBbClCZXju_7O8gw%3D%3D&product_context=1397578&product_name=UnuFlow&trigger_context=a 1
Sonic007 Posted January 11, 2022 Author Posted January 11, 2022 (edited) You may need to wait a certain number of days after deleting the old account before it's fully purged. Google allows you to recover recently deleted accounts, which is what it sounds like could be happening in your case. You could maybe test that if you can remember the account name of an account you deleted last year or something. This article says that accounts are recoverable for up to 20 days after being deleted. https://apps.google.com/supportwidget/articlehome?article_url=https%3A%2F%2Fsupport.google.com%2Fa%2Fanswer%2F1397578&assistant_event=welcome&assistant_id=!yo1I78BBbClCZXju_7O8gw%3D%3D&product_context=1397578&product_name=UnuFlow&trigger_context=a Thankyou for this. It is what I feared might be the case. Just been trying to explain the issue to Google who have been going round in circles not understanding my issue at all. It would be good if there was a permanently delete option too. Edited January 11, 2022 by Sonic007
jthompson Posted January 11, 2022 Posted January 11, 2022 I wonder if you could bodge it be renaming the accounts prior to deleting them, such that they'll no longer match your new accounts? 1
Sonic007 Posted January 11, 2022 Author Posted January 11, 2022 Yeah that may be the way I have to go for the future. Thankyou.
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now