Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

Hello, all..

 

This has been with us for a while, but it's now starting to annoy staff because it's happening more.

 

Our Outlook 2010 client setup is configured to run with a profile that has the username included.

(Our server didn't have auto-configure capability when we got 2010, before anyone asks - heh).

 

Which is fine... Unless we get something like a user called SmithJ when there's also a user called SmithJ1.

 

Then when SmithJ runs Outlook for the first time on a PC, it throws up a box asking them to confirm if they really meant SmithJ1.

If they pick SmithJ1, then their Outlook profile is b0rk3d unless they know how to go into the profile and reset it.

 

Is there a way of switching off this "helpful" prompt feature in Outlook?

 

Cheers,

Gerard

Posted

Thanks for getting back to me.

 

I'll give it a bash (once I get hold of a user that's got a name-clash type user ID).

I think(?) that one disables the welcome screen that asks if you want to download updates - which we've already killed with the OCT.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...