talksr Posted September 15, 2017 Posted September 15, 2017 Unfortunately, the partition I made for our WSUS folder was not large enough and with the folder currently over 300gb, no end of clean up wizards and cutting down on the sort of updates I download has helped. I have made a new partition on our server and used the following guide to 'move' the WSUS folder containing the update files to the new folder in our new partition. All has gone well, though it took some time, when I checked the server this morning, the command prompt was showing the following: C:\Program Files\Update Services\Tools>WsusUtil.exe movecontent E:\WSUS\ E:\move .log Content location is being moved. Please do not stop this program. Content move has successfully finished. C:\Program Files\Update Services\Tools> However, obviously Microsoft's idea on what 'move' means, is different to mine as the original location is still completely full of the update files. I have checked the sizes and the folder size for the new folder is slightly bigger than the old one. I have checked the log file for the 'move' and it shows the following: 2017-09-14T14:12:56 Successfully stopped WsusService. 2017-09-14T14:12:56 Beginning content file location change to E:\WSUS\ 2017-09-15T03:31:08 Successfully copied content files. 2017-09-15T03:31:08 Successfully copied application files. 2017-09-15T03:31:11 Successfully changed WUS configuration. 2017-09-15T03:31:12 Successfully changed IIS virtual directory path. 2017-09-15T03:31:12 Successfully removed existing local content network shares. 2017-09-15T03:31:12 Successfully created local content network shares. 2017-09-15T03:31:12 Successfully changed registry value for content store directory. 2017-09-15T03:31:12 Successfully changed content file location. 2017-09-15T03:31:15 Successfully started WsusService. 2017-09-15T03:31:15 Content integrity check and repair... 2017-09-15T03:31:15 Initiated content integrity check and repair. Does anyone know if I am now safe to delete the old folder? The Microsoft guide does not mention anything about this. Thanks in advance
DavR Posted September 15, 2017 Posted September 15, 2017 Might as well - it's saying it's copied the content. Worst comes to the worst, you can just download the content again overnight. As long as the content location is changed that's the main thing. Fairly sure I when I moved our WSUS content folder there was still content in the old one when I deleted the partition it was on.
Geoff Posted September 15, 2017 Posted September 15, 2017 Even when I uninstalled WSUS on our branch servers and ticked the box that said 'remove content' it still left files strewn everywhere. 1
talksr Posted September 15, 2017 Author Posted September 15, 2017 Might as well - it's saying it's copied the content. Worst comes to the worst, you can just download the content again overnight. As long as the content location is changed that's the main thing. Fairly sure I when I moved our WSUS content folder there was still content in the old one when I deleted the partition it was on. Thanks, I have started deleting the old one.
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now