Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

One of our year groups are making videos on the iPads. A few weeks ago I plugged in the trolley and Apple Configurator upgraded them all to ios 7 and deleted all their videos. I've just attached one today, and seen there is another update, and configurator wants to automatically update and erase again.

 

I don't mind updating them (although I'd rather do it at a time of my choosing, then when I just want to add a single app), but I really don't want them to be erased.

 

There is a box which says 'Erase when installing', but I can't untick it in Supervised mode.

Posted
Strange, I can't find the box that says "Erase when installing" .. Where is it? Anyway, could you use Configurator to make a backup of each iPad before updating then restore them to their backup after?
Posted

Screen Shot 2013-11-26 at 15.12.20.png

Erase before installing is on the Prepare screen.

 

 

Can I get to the iPads to say 'don't update', before the update/erase kicks in. I'm wary of connecting them up just in case.

Posted (edited)

Are the iPads supervised already?

 

Edit: if you select do not restore/update before plugging them in and click apply. It will ask you to connect them and when you do it will only refresh the restrictions and apps nothing else.

Edited by itgeek1989
Posted

Ah, I see. I didn't think to look in the prepare screen! itgeek's advice was better than mine - I'd assumed you wanted to update, but if this isn't an issue, not updating is certainly an easier option! In Configurator preferences, you can unselect "Automatically Refresh" under "When a supervised device is connected" to give you a little more control when you hook them up, but so long as you make the change and hit "Apply" before connecting them, the first refresh they complete will include your new settings.

 

I'd back them up before updating anyway if you get the chance, just in case an update goes awry. You can never be too safe :)

Posted
In Configurator preferences, you can unselect "Automatically Refresh" under "When a supervised device is connected" to give you a little more control when you hook them up

 

Didn't know that. Every day is a school day...

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...