Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted
Yet another thread to do with Veeam and backups:( I've just ran an Instant VM Recovery on a test machine and all went well expect that I now have the original VM & VM_migrated. If I look under the Instand Recovery in Veeam it still shows the VM status as mounted but I thought that when I ran the Migrate to production it would have transferred the VM onto our live environment and removed this session? Have I missed something out?
Posted
No, it's the full version, but we have just started testing with changing the way we do backups. The first thing I've done is Instant VM which has left this instance behind even though everything looks like it is working.
Posted

The instant VM recovery mounts the server from the local storage (i.e your backup server) into ESXI - you will need to unmount the vm.

 

Full VM recovery is required to put it back into the VMware environment.

  • Thanks 1
Posted
The instant VM recovery mounts the server from the local storage (i.e your backup server) into ESXI - you will need to unmount the vm.

 

Full VM recovery is required to put it back into the VMware environment.

So after migrating the VM to production I need to stop publishing it to unmount the VM from Instant Recovery and this should also remove the VM_Migrated?

Posted
So after migrating the VM to production I need to stop publishing it to unmount the VM from Instant Recovery and this should also remove the VM_Migrated?

 

I think so yes - but I would double check with the Veeam support guys. I've only ever done instant vm and then removed it without cloning it back.

  • Thanks 1
Posted
I think so yes - but I would double check with the Veeam support guys. I've only ever done instant vm and then removed it without cloning it back.

 

Thats what I've just done, but when I did it it removed the original VM so I tried to restore it through intanst VM. As it's a test machine, I'll try your advice and if it all goes wrong I'll do a full restore from scratch.

 

Cheers

Posted
I think so yes, but I am going through the options of restoring VM's now so we know which one to use when needed. The next thing I will look be testing is Full restore and name change also. But I'll be leaving that until next week when I have more time if it goes wrong :)

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...