+ Post New Thread
Windows 7 Thread, C:\Users\username\Application Data on Windows 7 and Vista got access denied in Technical; Hi All, how can I access the following folder in WIndows 7 and Vista: C:\Users\username\Application Data i got access denied ...

Thank Post

Question C:\Users\username\Application Data on Windows 7 and Vista got access denied

Hi All,

how can I access the following folder in WIndows 7 and Vista:

C:\Users\username\Application Data

i got access denied when I'm an administrator ?
    Edit/Delete Message

Thank Post

Thumbs up

ok got it

I've tried this as the solution:
    1. Right click on the Sallie folder located in C:/Users/username then go to properties
    2. Click the security tab
    3. Click advanced
    4. Click the owner tab
    5. Click edit
    6. Highlight your user name and check the replace owner on subcontainers and objects checkbox, click apply then ok. Then press ok on all of the other windows to exit out of them.
    Last edited by albertwt; 18th March 2010 at 01:12 AM.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,322 Posts
    Blog Entries
    It is like this by default, all user personal documents only have NTFS permissions for themselves and the system.

If you try to open the \users\username folder it should prompt you to allow admin access which will take ownership of the folders and files, add read write permissions and set the owner back to the original user.

You can do this manually by right clicking on the folder, selecting properties, security tab, advanced button, owner tab, edit button, select yourself as the new owner and click the apply to subfolders and files checkbox and click ok.

This will make you the owner and have full permissions, you then tweak the permissions as required to allow both you and the user access and if you wish set the owner back to the original user.

Edit: Beat me to it, remember to make sure that the original user still has rights as well otherwise this can cause havoc