+ Post New Thread
Network and Classroom Management Thread, RM CC3 network? in Technical; I am an ICT teacher going for a job at a school where the network is an RM CC3 network. ...
    Thank Post

RM CC3 network?

I am an ICT teacher going for a job at a school where the network is an RM CC3 network. As I have successfully managed to avoid working at an RM school so far in my career I have no prior experience of this type of network. RM itself have next to no information on it on their site and all I can glean from Google is that it is a style of network which is implemented where there isnt a dedicated network technician.

Would appreciate any assistance on this!

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    CC3 is a middleware layer. Its designed as an interface to easily manage users, software, printers and computers. It also has a printer credit framework built into it and integrates remote desktop control in the form of RM Tutor.

Unless you're managing the network, you will see very little differences in day to day usage. The most obvious and visible differences to the user are the modified GINA and the logoff button in the bottom right corner of the desktop. It's still Windows and from an end user perspective is pretty much identical.

There's obviously more to it than that but I think I've more or less summarised it.

3. Thanks to Norphy from:

shutdownplease (3rd February 2010)

Thank Post
    CC3 is no longer being sold by RM, I believe, hence why you cannot find information about it.

http://www.edu.dudley.gov.uk/ict/sof...ages/rmex3.gif

Pretty much what you'll see in CC3. Very much like the usual XP.

5. Thanks to Edu-IT from:

shutdownplease (3rd February 2010)

Thank Post
    Norphy - fantastic - thank you very much

I wont be managing it directly but the position may involve oversight of network operations

Will be interesting to see what it is actually like in practice

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Edu-IT View Post