Tim,
About your problem with UserLock and laptops, and according to my own experience, this occurs when users put their laptops in Hibernate mode without closing their session, or when they close their session when their laptop is not connected to the network any longer.
In these cases, UserLock of course doesn't "know" that the session has been closed and will prevent these users to open what it considers to be a new session (if you allowed only 1 session at a time for your users) from another computer.
Turnaround: these users should connect again to the network with the same laptop, and UserLock will automatically correct the issue, without any intervention from the administrator.
Best/Jean