Jobos Posted December 10, 2024 Posted December 10, 2024 My predecessor setup a bunch of iPads and although he used an MDM he also signed then in using used a shared Apple ID. Now I have teachers saying they are getting photos from other classes. When I disable the iCould photo sync I get a warning about deleting photos. Which option do I select? I'm guessing remove from iPad but do not want to delete needed photos. I want any photos that were taken on this iPad to stay on this iPad and photos taken on other iPads removed.
robintech Posted December 10, 2024 Posted December 10, 2024 the space optimisation will move files to the cloud as needed and just have a thumbnail locally afaik. If it removes them from the iPad they will be in the iCloud already We use an email account created for the iPads, then they email themselves or the teacher the photos they need. Never seems to need any attention from us and can only send emails inside the org, password is some random string 1
Jobos Posted December 11, 2024 Author Posted December 11, 2024 Update, I have now found the iPads have not been enrolled with Apple but they are using Jamf to deploy apps. The supplier said they can still be enrolled with Apple even though they were bought in 2021 which I thought was good. Will enrolment mean the iPads get wiped as soon as they are enrolled with Apple?
steveg Posted December 11, 2024 Posted December 11, 2024 Enrolled with apple means they will be available in Apple School Manager to assign to an MDM in supervised mode, which gives you more control over the iPads. They will need wiping and setting up again in order to be supervised, but enrolling them will not actually wipe them, you have to do that on the iPad. 1
Jobos Posted December 11, 2024 Author Posted December 11, 2024 Enrolled with apple means they will be available in Apple School Manager to assign to an MDM in supervised mode, which gives you more control over the iPads. They will need wiping and setting up again in order to be supervised, but enrolling them will not actually wipe them, you have to do that on the iPad. Thanks for that. When I saw the iPads were not enrolled I was surprised as thought they have to be before they could be added to Jamf.
PotNoodleTech Posted December 11, 2024 Posted December 11, 2024 You need to get rid of the shared apple account as soon as you humanly can as it's a data protection and safeguarding nightmare just waiting to bite your school on the behind. 2
Jobos Posted January 8, 2025 Author Posted January 8, 2025 Update: We had the iPads added to our Apple account so now ready to setup the iPads properly but looking at Jamf I see the automated device enrolment certificate has my predecessor's Apple account which is now blocked by Apple. Long story but we got Apple involved to reset the passwords as the Apple account we had didn't work so they fixed that plus blocked my predecessor account. So I'm in Jamf looking at Organization > Settings > Apple Push Notification Service and want to delete the certificate so I can add a new one but unable to as there are still devices using it and it says to trash the devices first. My question is if I trash the iPads how can I get them back into Jamf? Thanks.
steveg Posted January 8, 2025 Posted January 8, 2025 Never used Jamf, but imagine it works the same as other MDM systems. If you delete / trash any ipad, as long as it's still in apple school manager and has an mdm assigned, it will factory reset and enroll again. You will obviously need to trash / delete them, setup the new certificate and then re-enroll them (setup an enrollment profile and assign them to this in apple school manager)
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now