dsnanra Posted April 18, 2008 Posted April 18, 2008 Hi I have recenlty changed the permissions on Pupils and Deny'd them to delete anything from their own user shared folders Users now open a saved document and do Save As.. they then get an error stating that a file already exists (whic is not there) when they then open that file which ever application it is it saves a blank document with nothing in there ALso as Administrator on the server I cant even delete their work I have checked permissons and gone through advanced tab and it all seems fine has anyone ever had this before where the system automatically saves the work from the user?? P.S. Nearly thinking of pulling my hair out
altecsole Posted April 18, 2008 Posted April 18, 2008 They will need delete permissions to save work. Things like Word create a temporary hidden file that gets deleted when a file is saved. If you disable delete this process won't work. Why don't you want them to delete things? If it's a shared area for lots of users set the creator owner to have full control so that they can only delete their own files.
rush_tech Posted April 18, 2008 Posted April 18, 2008 Why would you want to stop them from deleting files? Do you have quotas on there home folders? Surley your just gonna end up with gb's of rubbish
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now