Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

Hi

 

I have recenlty changed the permissions on Pupils and Deny'd them to delete anything from their own user shared folders

 

Users now open a saved document and do Save As.. they then get an error stating that a file already exists (whic is not there)

when they then open that file which ever application it is it saves a blank document with nothing in there

 

ALso as Administrator on the server I cant even delete their work

I have checked permissons and gone through advanced tab and it all seems fine

 

has anyone ever had this before where the system automatically saves the work from the user??

 

P.S. Nearly thinking of pulling my hair out

Posted

They will need delete permissions to save work. Things like Word create a temporary hidden file that gets deleted when a file is saved. If you disable delete this process won't work.

 

Why don't you want them to delete things? If it's a shared area for lots of users set the creator owner to have full control so that they can only delete their own files.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...