Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

It seems some of our students have noticed that when their screen is locked, they can put the computer to sleep then wake it back up again and have restored access. I guess this is something to do with the tutor console losing the connection to the machine, but should it not auto reconnect and remember the last setting?

 

We're using RM tutor 5 which is based on Netsupport v10.50, but is this an issue which has been resolved in later versions or is it behaviour that would happen no matter what version we use?

Posted

Hi

 

I work in the support team at NetSupport and I would like to offer our assistance in the behaviour you have raised with RM Tutor 5 and the lock feature.

 

If you would like to contact the NetSupport support team direct on [email protected] and we will be happy to help.

 

Kind Regards,

 

Andy Earp

 

Tech Support Analyst

NetSupport Ltd.

Posted

Hi, I'm the Product Manager for RM Tutor. I'm sure this is something that myself or the NetSupport team we can work on with you.

 

Please do get in touch if you want to discuss your options - [email protected]

 

Hopefully hear from you soon, many thanks.

  • 2 weeks later...
Posted

Hi, thought I'd check in with you to see if you have been in contact with the NetSupport support team? and to see whether this has been rectified. Please let me know.

 

Thank you

 

Phil Reid

Posted
Hi, thought I'd check in with you to see if you have been in contact with the NetSupport support team? and to see whether this has been rectified. Please let me know.

 

Thank you

 

Phil Reid

 

Yes, thanks. The issue wasn't consistent though and only appeared once during the remote session, thus i'll instead take logs on future occurences for further analysis.

 

On a better note though, I can advise our staff not to select machine to lock, but rather to lock all (no selection) and select machines to unlock, which means the console will assume its last state on a reconnected machine (something, bizarrely, it won't do if selected then locked!)

  • 3 weeks later...
Posted

I can confirm that DG is correct, when simply selecting the 'Lock' option this locks all connected Student devices.

 

If a Student was then to try and bypass the lock state, by putting the device into sleep mode, the Student device would re-enter the lock state once it was back up and running (woken up).

 

Unfortunately, this does not work in the same way if you individually lock a single Student or group of Student machines.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...