Jump to content

Login Keychain Settings " Lock After x Minutes of inactivity" , Disable ??


Recommended Posts

Posted

As title , all my ad logins have this enabled and set to 5 mins we need around 240 mins because Safari will be using kerberos soon and it prompts for password once the user is inactive for 5 mins. If i manually change it, its fine untill after they log back in and itresets back to the default.

 

Am i missing something ? we are using profile manager and i have a few custom Plists setup but cant find out why this applys to AD accounts only ? local accounts seem fine .

 

We are running Yosemite btw

Posted
If you have a default user profile in place make sure you delete the "keychain" folder. Doing this forces a new one to be created when a new AD user logs in and it will be theres. If you keep a default one in place it will prompt you for the password of the user you created the default profile with.
Posted

The profile is stored in the users windows home directory. I have tried deleting there keychain , but everytime a user logs in the setting "Lock After 5 Minutes of inactivity" is enabled in there logon .

 

Weirdly it doesnt do it on Local logins , it allows me to change it on AD user accounts manually but as soon as i logoff and back on it comes back to default

 

I now have the terminal command to alter the length , so looking at a way at running it at logon

 

ta for the reply.

Posted

OK figured this out without the need of a script.

 

Because of the key-chain being stored in the AD Home folder it was getting kinda messed up with permissions , for e.g. i couldn't chmod it using terminal and was producing a Unix permission error.

 

Because of this i decided to redirect the key-chain folder to the /tmp folder on the local machine at logon using a symlink

 

Now the keychain folder deletes at every logoff/reboot But now solves 2 problems with 1 solution

 

1.) Login keychain now no longer has a timeout and works perfect.

2.) When a user used to change there password in AD , they would get a keychain error message when they first logged back onto the macs . Because of the new location of the keychain this no longer happens ! .

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...