abillybob Posted October 6, 2015 Posted October 6, 2015 Hey Guys, Bit of a pickle. Sold my Nexus 6 and obviously before I put it in the post I wiped the device. The chap has contacted me and said that he can't get past the first screen as it says something along the lines of "the device has been recently used with another account and has been wiped - please enter the old account information" he's asked for me to call him to give him my email address and password for Google which I'm really not comfortable doing. Is there any other way around this?? Any help would be most appreciated! Thanks.
AVMan86 Posted October 6, 2015 Posted October 6, 2015 Maybe it is still listed in your Android Device Manager and you might be able to delete it: https://www.google.com/android/devicemanager?u=0
abillybob Posted October 6, 2015 Author Posted October 6, 2015 I tried doing the above but to no avail I called him up tonight and the plan was for me to give my gmail account to him for a couple minutes over the phone and then I change the password straight he's activated. Problem was that I changed my gmail password before we had the phone conversation as it was a password I use for most things on the internet. So I gave him this temporary password but now the phone is in a loop and overtime he logs in to my account it asks him for my account information again, won't get passed it!! Apparently if you change your password while a phone is in this state it can't be activated until after 72 hours (according to Google) this is because they believe you have had it stolen hence why you've changed your password etc... It was silly of me anyway but I just wanted to get it sorted, I've since had to change my password again and enabled 2 step authentication whenever a login occurs. I have now told him to send the phone back I'll unlock it after the 72 hours and send it back to him. I have said I'll flip the bill for everything but for some odd reason he doesn't seem to want to send the phone back to me now! Don't know what to do but wait as I'm sure I'll be penalised on eBay for it!! Never even knew about this feature until now, just a word of warning for everyone else.
Arthur Posted October 7, 2015 Posted October 7, 2015 before I put it in the post I wiped the device. Did you just do a factory data reset (Settings » Backup & Reset) and then shut it down at the Welcome screen?
abillybob Posted October 7, 2015 Author Posted October 7, 2015 Did you just do a factory data reset (Settings » Backup & Reset) and then shut it down at the Welcome screen? Did it from recovery!! Wipe data and cache then reboot the phone. As soon as it got to the welcome screen I turned it off.
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now