Jaan Posted February 21, 2013 Posted February 21, 2013 HI guys/gals, we are just setting up DPM with our new D2D2T hardware. I noticed that when we configure our protection groups, it asks if we want to backup, shares or volumes. This is on a file server. This brings me to my question. Does DPM 2012 SP1 retain file shares & ntfs file permissions. And what is the difference between share or volume backup. i think i've confused myself into thinking that volume back up just grabs the data and doesn't retain file share/permissions, where Shares does thanks for any info.
deano Posted February 21, 2013 Posted February 21, 2013 DPM will retain share and file permissions. When you Cary out a restore, you are asked to apply original permissions or inherit for new location etc. As for the volume or share, this functionality is there for administrators that require backup of a share and not the volume. For instance, if I backup volume d: with DPM, this will still backup the SIMS share as it resides on the d:. Similarly , if I want to only backup the SIMS folder and nothing else located on the d: then it would just be he share option. Hope this makes sense?
Jaan Posted March 13, 2013 Author Posted March 13, 2013 Hello we have DPM set up and running now, we also have a d2t. its restoring files great and maintaining NTFS file permissions. it isn't however restoring folder share settings. eg \\server\users\students\username$ username$ is the shared folder. if i delete the folder "username$" and restore it from dpm. it adds the ntfs file permissions but the folder is unshared. i can re-share no problems. but if i want to restore the whole of the "students" folder, i'd have to add the shares one by one..... surly this isn't right and im doing something wrong.
deano Posted March 13, 2013 Posted March 13, 2013 I have done many restores using DPM, but only files or folders within a user area. I remember once that moved my staff user areas from one vhd to another bigger one. For this I used DPM restore because it was faster than copying the files. I do remember afterwards, that I had to re-add the share as it lost it 1
Jaan Posted March 13, 2013 Author Posted March 13, 2013 I have done many restores using DPM, but only files or folders within a user area. I remember once that moved my staff user areas from one vhd to another bigger one. For this I used DPM restore because it was faster than copying the files. I do remember afterwards, that I had to re-add the share as it lost it Ahhh bugger....... thx for the clarification tho, scrip time then.....
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now