Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

Morning All,

 

Hope everyone is doing well considering the circumstances!

 

With the New Meeting Experience on Microsoft Teams, we've found that the option to switch it on is not always available under the Teams app we have installed across our computers and laptops in school. It can be quite sporadic with where it will work.

 

I originally deployed Teams so that it would install to C:\Program Files and not into the AppData of each user using the regedit trick to make the computer look virtualised.

 

However, even if I remove the regedit and install Teams as normal so that it lands in the AppData, the option is still not available.

 

From what I can see, the app itself is being updated as expected, so I'm wondering if I've accidently stuffed something up by making Teams install to C:\Program Files using the regedit trick?

 

The reason we wanted to use the New Meeting Experience is because it allows you to record meetings in private channels (we currently have a main year group team and classes underneath each of them as private channels with all the relevant staff and children included).

 

Has anyone experienced the same?

 

Any advise would be greatly appreciated! [emoji16]

Posted

Just to let you know we've had the same issue and it does seem to be linked to the VDI key, however there's more at play here just to confuse things, which I'm still trying to work out as I get spare time!

 

So we're using the Citrix key under PortICA. If you delete it, and open Teams again as you say nothing happens.

 

However if you close Teams, Remove the regkey, then delete %appdata%\Microsoft\teams, Open Teams again (You'll notice in Settings the "new experience" is now there asking for a restart), close it again and reopen and boom you have New Meeting experience, even without reinstalling.

 

If you then close it, delete appdata again and put regkey back it next time you open it back to old experience.

 

However, if you put the regkey back, but leave their appdata, they now have the new experience, but with the VDI key, so it seems to be something in the appdata settings that's causing the problem (Created originally by the VDI key)

 

Steve

Posted
Just to let you know we've had the same issue and it does seem to be linked to the VDI key, however there's more at play here just to confuse things, which I'm still trying to work out as I get spare time!

 

So we're using the Citrix key under PortICA. If you delete it, and open Teams again as you say nothing happens.

 

However if you close Teams, Remove the regkey, then delete %appdata%\Microsoft\teams, Open Teams again (You'll notice in Settings the "new experience" is now there asking for a restart), close it again and reopen and boom you have New Meeting experience, even without reinstalling.

 

If you then close it, delete appdata again and put regkey back it next time you open it back to old experience.

 

However, if you put the regkey back, but leave their appdata, they now have the new experience, but with the VDI key, so it seems to be something in the appdata settings that's causing the problem (Created originally by the VDI key)

 

Steve

Hi Steve,

 

Very interesting to hear your experiences too....we used the Hyper-V equivalent VDI key and noticed the same behaviour. I've now reverted us back to the appdata version of Teams for now until this option becomes more stable (we don't lock appdata down too heavily for users here).

 

There's definitely something screwy in appdata messing with this as when I've deleted the cache for our users, I've observed exactly the same. I'm wondering if it's also something to do with the updating process too....initially, I didn't realise that the VDI (MSI) version of the app does not auto update in the same way as the standard (EXE) version and new versions have to be installed manually by uninstalling the old version first and then putting the new version on top.

 

So I'm wondering if the install has got borked in an earlier release of the MSI version and when unininstalling and reinstalling a later version on top, it's somehow carried the old settings across and not the new (if that makes sense!).

 

I just wish there was more consistency between the two types of installer as I didn't find it very clear from the outset....

 

It's certainly a learning curve! Haha! [emoji28]

 

Richard

Posted

The installer is the same, as the only thing that makes it VDI is the alluser flag, if you don't use that it'll just install it as normal but in program files (until a user loads it when it copies to appdata). As mentioned, even deleting the appdata settings etc (not install version) will bring the setting to life without a reinstall, so it's definitely already in the MSI

 

But yeah, still to investigate as time allows! :p Will let you know if I find anything specific

 

Steve

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...