Jump to content

Bodged Server 2012 R2 to 2019 Upgrade - Black screen of Death Vs. no mapped drives


Recommended Posts

Posted

Hey Guys,

 

Typically just before term starts my in-place upgrade of the last server has failed -

 

It's the file server and is split into two raid configurations;

 

A: is the OS

B: is all the data

 

Now I rolled back the update and the server now see's the data share (It's lost some programs but that's about it) however on reboot when connected to the domain I get the window startup box, followed by a black screen.

 

Even stanger, people can still access their documents and all the shares work, just no GUI (Yes, I tried to install the GUI with no joy)

 

If I continue the upgrade it works fine, but the data drive disappears and windows doesn't register it at all.

 

I had a similar problem with a server bulit by another company and they said it was due to the 'encryption of the raid controller to prevent HDD theft'

 

When prompted to clarify they got all touchy and asked for money (typical)

 

Tomorrow I'm going to try and fix the black SOD issue, but in the meantime has anyone had either the BSOD or missing physical drives when upgrading from server 2012 R2?

 

All my other servers took the update fine.

 

Quick rundown:

 

Server 2012 R2 fully patched, Server 2019 without updates (release version)

Raid 1 OS and Raid 5 Data on a DELL/VIGLEN LSI controller (Raid controller reports all drives online)

 

Cheers all

Posted (edited)
Check the raid card drivers

 

The one that are on might not work after the upgrade.

 

Thanks Ricki -

 

For some reason it was a combination of the drivers and a cumulative update for server 2019, phew

 

However I do seem to have lost all my shares, though the security permissions are still there - Trying to rack my brains RE the best way to recall what was and wasn't shared...

 

----------

 

EDIT

 

Setting up the shares, all the security settings have been retained; but the shares have not

 

For all my other sharesm MSI etc I always set it to 'everyone' read only, but as I tried this I got a permissions error, so I changed it to everyone 'modify'

 

Am I right in thinking this is ok to do? I tried accessing other peoples home areas and I got the deny box, so I assume security permissions override sharing permissions, and it's ok to set to 'everyone'

 

If that makes sense, pictures attached.

 

Does anyone do file sharing and security differently?

 

------------

 

Edit 2

 

Followed the good practice guide from this blog, as recomended by MS

 

https://blog.foldersecurityviewer.com/7-best-practices-in-managing-ntfs-permission/

Edited by Warwick_Tech

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...