Jump to content
EduGeek EdSec 2026 is Go! 27th Oct in Derby! Join us for a day of EdTech security focused talks, networking, and an evening social ×

Recommended Posts

Posted

Link: IrfanView - Official Homepage - one of the most popular viewers worldwide

 

There were numerous changes here are only the more important things.Version 4.38 ( - CURRENT VERSION - ) (Release date: 2014-06-23)

 

  • New Options menu/feature: Export image tiles (split image)
  • New Options menu: Hotfolder (Watch folder and show new images)
  • New view modes in Thumbnails window: Tiles, Details and List mode
  • New feature: (new) "IrfanView Shell Extension" available on PlugIns website

(= adds Context menu with some IrfanView operations to Windows Explorer)

  • Thanks to Michael Dunn!
  • New options in the "Adobe 8BF filters" dialog (Thanks to Frank/jazzman)
  • Improved speed in the LCMS (Color Management) PlugIn
  • Added support for old formats like: Amiga, Atari, C64, ZX Spectrum etc.
  • Thanks to Piotr Fusik! (RECOIL support in Formats PlugIn)
  • New Print dialog features: Borderless print, Negative positions, better preview
  • New command line option: /makecopy, a flag for /convert

=> if destination file exists, save new file as copy: (1), (2), (3) etc.

  • Option to add max. 10 external editors (for advanced users): Properties->Misc
  • Option to Drag&Drop current file to other programs: SHIFT + left mouse + drag
  • New Print dialog option: Always use default printer at dialog start
  • New hotkey: CTRL + SHIFT + N = Negative image (all channels)
  • Better support for high resolution screens (high DPI)
  • Several PlugIns are changed/updated, please install the newest versions

  • 3 years later...
Posted
There were numerous changes, here are only the more important things.

 

Version 4.51 ( - CURRENT VERSION - )

(Release date: 2018-02-27)

 

  • Improved JPG save option: "Set file size" (no RIOT PlugIn needed)
  • New options in IrfanView Shell Extension (PlugIns website)
  • Support for animated WebP files
  • Some fixes (Zoom box text, EXE/DLL icon loading)
  • Several PlugIns are changed/updated, please install the newest versions:
  • (Link->)IrfanView PlugIns

 

Link 1: Download IrfanView

 

Link 2: IrfanView 64-bit version

 

http://www.irfanview.mediaside.co.uk/KeepCalm_Jody.jpg

  • Thanks 2
  • 2 weeks later...
  • 1 year later...
Posted

Link: Irfanview - Version 4.53 ( - CURRENT VERSION - )

 

There were numerous changes, here are only the more important things.

 

Version 4.53 ( - CURRENT VERSION - )

 

(Release date: 2019-05-15)

 

  • New effect in Image->Effects menu: Insert Speech Bubbles
  • Examples/Screenshot: speech_bubbles.jpg
  • New effect in Image menu: Add Shadow, Shape, Rounded corners, Snowflake etc.
  • New effect in Image menu: Add Hexagon (or tiles), Star, Spikes, Heart etc.
  • Show mouse zoom magnifier: CTRL+SHIFT + Mouse-move in the image
  • (mouse wheel zooms within magnifier area, click inside closes it)
  • New border effect in "Add Frame" dialog: Broken Edge
  • New effect added: Radial Brighten (Effects browser dialog)
  • New option in Capture dialog: Draw red circle around cursor
  • New option in Advanced batch dialog: Set maximal dimensions for resize
  • Profiles option added to Contact Sheet dialog
  • Option to read 1 BPP images in RAW dialog
  • Command line: /filepattern can be combined with /slideshow
  • TIF/PCX/PSD loading bugs fixed (thanks to Apriorit)
  • Some PlugIns are changed/updated, please install the newest versions

  • 6 months later...
Posted

Link 1: Irfanview - History of changes

 

There were numerous changes, here are only the more important things.

 

Version 4.54 ( - CURRENT VERSION - )

 

(Release date: 2019-12-12)

 

Multiple Undo/Redo steps added (max. 20 steps, Properties->Editing)

Zoom magnifier added to fullscreen mode

Option to disable Zoom magnifier (Properties->Viewing)

Profiles option added to Print dialog

New option in Properties->Fullscreen: Set horizontal and/or vertical centering

New option in Print dialog: Set horizontal and/or vertical centering

Option to set selection border thickness (Properties->Editing)

Option to enable/disable PlugIns (Help->Installed PlugIns)

Extended sidecar files option: Copy/Move possible (Properties->File Handling)

New Canvas dialog option/method: Set aspect ratio

New option in Watch/Hot Folder dialog: Watch subfolders

New Lossless JPG Dialog option: Add (or Replace) ICC color profile

New Thumbnails option: Keep focus in folder tree (after folder change/click)

Option to show Color Corrections dialog in dark mode

Fix in Metadata PlugIn (crash with bad EXIF tag in CR2 files; KVE-2019-1184)

BMP loading bug fixed (thanks to Joshua Faust, CVE-2019-16887)

JP2 PlugIn loading bug fixed (thanks to Linhlhq)

ANI PlugIn loading bug fixed (thanks to Linhlhq, CVE-2019-17252)

RAS PlugIn loading bug fixed (thanks to Linhlhq, CVE-2019-17251)

EXR PlugIn loading bug fixed (thanks to Linhlhq, CVE-2019-17255)

DPX PlugIn loading bug fixed (thanks to Linhlhq, CVE-2019-17256)

WSQ PlugIn loading bug fixed (thanks to Linhlhq, CVE-2019-17250)

JLS PlugIn loading bug fixed (thanks to Linhlhq, CVE-2019-17253)

Several PlugIns are changed/updated, please install the newest versions:

http://www.irfanview.com/plugins.htm

 

Link 2: Irfanview [Front page, and download links]

  • 10 months later...
Posted

Link: Version 4.56 ( - CURRENT VERSION - )

 

There were numerous changes, here are only the more important things.

 

Version 4.56 ( - CURRENT VERSION - )

(Release date: 2020-10-21)

 

  • Updated Video PlugIn (improved Win10 compatibility, new player for MP3/FLAC)
  • Option to play all audio formats in main window (Properties->Video/Sound)
  • Option to change hotkeys for menus: Right mouse click on menu item
  • New option in Paint dialog: Fill rect/ellipse with transparent color
  • New "Edit->Insert Watermark" option: Use color to highlight an area
  • Option to disable mouse wheel for file browsing (Properties->Browsing)
  • New SVG PlugIn (Thanks to seppesol)
  • New XCF PlugIn (Thanks to Jacek SQ6KBQ)
  • New JPG option: Use QuantSmooth loading (PlugIn, thanks to Ilya Kurdyukov)
  • Option for page/frame filename suffix in Multipage-Extract dialog
  • CTRL + "Save-As" icon on toolbar calls the "Save" menu
  • New option in Advanced batch dialog: Add Border/Frame
  • New option in Insert Text dialog: Settings for Outline-1 effect (Rainbow)
  • New paste option: Change paste counter (Edit->Paste special)
  • New shapes in Hexagon dialog: Ellipse, Cloud; Spiral (thanks to Rod Stephens)
  • New option in Hexagon/Shadow dialog: Background transparency
  • Support for PSB format (Photoshop files)
  • Context menu added to EXIF dialog (Copy only selected lines)
  • New placeholder: $c (Compression text from Image->Info dialog)
  • Program icon updated
  • New Paint dialog icons (Thanks to Michael Grosberg)
  • CLP format moved to FORMATS PlugIn
  • JP2 PlugIn loading bugs fixed (thanks to Phung Duc Luan and Linhlhq)
  • B3D and XCF PlugIn loading bugs fixed (thanks to Zhe Wang)
  • Formats PlugIn bugs fixed (XPM,XBM,CR2,HDR,WBMB,FITS,DDS) (thanks to nhiephon)
  • MNG PlugIn loading bug fixed (thanks to zhazha crack)
  • Several PlugIns are changed/updated, please install the newest versions:

https://www.irfanview.com/plugins.htm

  • 2 months later...
Posted

Link: Version 4.57 ( - CURRENT VERSION - )

 

There were numerous changes, here are only the more important things.

 

Version 4.57 ( - CURRENT VERSION - )

 

(Release date: 2021-01-13)

 

  • Improved option "Try registry changes" (Properties->Extensions)
  • Option to use new Windows File-Open dialog (Properties->Misc)
  • Option to create only Shortcuts (LNK file) in File-Copy dialog
  • New Camera RAW PlugIn (based on LibRAW, thanks to Alex Tutubalin)
  • Support for WPG format (PlugIn, WPG version 1; thanks to Flurmy)
  • Improved GIF reading
  • PCX loading bug fixed (thanks to @DmitriyMelikov, CVE-2020-35133)
  • MNG PlugIn loading bug fixed (thanks to ThanhTP)
  • PCX format moved to FORMATS PlugIn
  • Several PlugIns are changed/updated, please install the newest versions:

https://www.irfanview.com/plugins.htm

  • 4 months later...
Posted

Link: Version 4.58 ( - CURRENT VERSION - )

 

There were numerous changes, here are only the more important things.

 

Version 4.58 ( - CURRENT VERSION - )

 

(Release date: 2021-05-26)

 

  • New option in Add-Text dialog: add text above/below image (add canvas)
  • New in Add-Text for Batch mode: Scale font based on desktop height
  • New Resize dialog option: Set size in MegaPixels
  • New option in File-Copy/Move dialog: Create duplicate file (for existing files)
  • New option: Keep mouse on Next/Prev-file toolbar buttons (Properties->Viewing)
  • New PlugIn: OptiPNG (Optimized PNG saving, thanks to Cosmin Truta)
  • PNGOUT PlugIn has been removed (use OptiPNG in PNG save options)
  • RIOT PlugIn has been removed (use "Set JPG file size" in JPG save options)
  • GIF animation bug fixed (thanks to Filipe Oliveira, Tempest Security Intelligence)
  • Several loading bugs in Formats PlugIn fixed (thanks to Moshe Kaplan)
  • WPG PlugIn loading bugs fixed (thanks to SEC Consult Vulnerability Lab: CVE-2021-27224 and CVE-2021-27362)
  • Updated panda (thumbnails) icon
  • Several PlugIns are changed/updated, please install the newest versions:

https://www.irfanview.com/plugins.htm

 

  • Thanks 1
  • 3 years later...
Posted

Link: History of IrfanView Changes/Versions

 

Version 4.70 ( - CURRENT VERSION - )

 

(Release date: 2024-10-11)

 

  • New option: Keep existing alpha/transparency color (Properties->Viewing)

Show checkerboard image; Alpha/Color also used for saving

  • New option in Increase Color Depth dialog: 32 BPP (with alpha layer)
  • New option in Replace Color dialog: Set transparent color (if 32 BPP image)
  • New Image menu: Edit or Set alpha/transparency color>
  • New option: Show Browse buttons in main window (Properties->Browsing)
  • Fine Rotation option can work on selections
  • New in OCR PlugIn: read QR or Barcode (thanks to ZXing guys)
  • New slideshow hotkey: SHIFT + "," (comma): Toggle random and automatic time
  • New Print dialog option: Reverse pages (for multipage images, page ranges)
  • Support for EXIF data in WEBP files (EXIF dialog)
  • Command line: "/effect" can be combined with "/slideshow", like:

i_view64.exe /slideshow=c:\mypics.txt /effect=(30,0,0)

  • Loading issues in several PlugIns fixed (thanks to Trend Micro)

(CADImage, Formats, CamRAW, DjVu, JPM, ECW, WSQ)

  • SVG PlugIn loading bugs fixed (thanks to nerty_nerty)
  • EXR PlugIn loading bugs fixed (thanks to leeho and Who4mI)
  • Several PlugIns are changed/updated, please install the newest versions:

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×
×
  • Create New...