+ Post New Thread
Hardware Thread, Compaq Grey Screen Issue - Help please? in Technical; Hello all, I have been scanning through other posts on here, but couldn't find anything that related. So, my problem ...

Thank Post

Compaq Grey Screen Issue - Help please?

Hello all,

I have been scanning through other posts on here, but couldn't find anything that related.

So, my problem I guess started about three weeks ago, when during those weeks my Compaq (Presario CQ60, purchased start of 2010) twice had issues coming out of sleep mode. I am a uni student so in and out all day on and off the computer, so I rarely shut it right down. I had to kill it several times before getting it to reload again.
    About two months after I got it, it took a fall, but besides some cosmetic warping near the power inlet, I have never had an issue with it, until now.
    I was using it Wednesday afternoon, perfectly fine, but when I came back to it that evening after walking the dogs, it had a plain blank grey screen, not even the mouse visible. Itunes was the last program that I had open and it would still respond using the spacebar (playing/pausing the music). I killed it with the power button and it rebooted with normal sounds, I could even type in the password and it continued, but still the same grey screen. I shut it down and left it overnight, and it was fine the next morning. I used it throughout the day, but again that night it went grey. I shut it down again and left it alone, it started fine the next day, then it has been left shut down over the weekend. I am on it again now, and it is currently working fine. I will shut it down again before leaving for class shortly.
    It is on an extended warranty (from memory) but due to the fall it took 14 months ago, I am unsure if it will be covered.

Does anyone have any inclination as to what is going on with it, so I know what to expect repair wise (dollars & time)? Or even if someone knows how to fix it...