+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Wireless Networks Thread, Ruckus and Samsung NC10's once more in Technical; Had a Ruckus network installed in the summer (sorry Aggy) and all seemed well untill it was used in anger ...
    Thank Post

Ruckus and Samsung NC10's once more

Had a Ruckus network installed in the summer (sorry Aggy) and all seemed well untill it was used in anger and now I'm getting it in the neck. We are having difficulty getting a class full of netbooks to log on correctly, some log on fine and some just wont find the profile to load (then when I try again its fine) and load a temporary one. They check out as having a wireless connection but having difficulty when logging on. The netbooks and server are fine as they worked OK when we just used a single AP (Netgear). Had the engineer out and he tested it and said the speed of downloads were fine when he had a connection which is fine but its getting it to log on reliably thats the problem. Now as I'm very new to Ruckus a couple of questions:

Should two adjacent AP's show the same channel? Did a wireless survey for signam strenth with some free software 'Ekahau HeatMapper' and it showed two next to each other on channel 6, the next time I tried it they had changed, so does Ruckus do the managemnet and allocation automatically all the time and should there end up with two the same next to each other?

Looking at the netbooks the drivers were the origianl installed ones (Atheros) and looking at the Samsung site the latest are a much later version. Dounloaded them but not had the chance to install yet. Could this solve my problems having them on the latest version (cant harm anyway!)

Cant remember the model number of the AP's but looking at the heat maps are they directional? Some seem to give much better coverage in some directions although it could be down to building structure, so just wondering.