+ Post New Thread
Wireless Networks Thread, Gigabit Network technology in Technical; Hi, I am looking for a gigabit switch that i can hang an XRAID from, but since i am relatively ...

Thank Post

Gigabit Network technology

Hi,

I am looking for a gigabit switch that i can hang an XRAID from, but since i am relatively new to fibre switches am struggling to work out the type i need. The connection from the XRAID seems to be an SFP but thats as much as i know, if that is even correct?

I have also been told that only a few switches are recommended for XRAID connections and have seen a list but its not a long list by any means, about three manufacturers.

Any info on gigabit switches that i could use would be brilliant. I have looked at a few but get lost in the technological acronyms.
    I do need to research the different types more...i have seen these Mini GBICs which i don't know what they are?

I need to get a switch so i can get a bit more redundancy from the RAID as well as connect more than just one Xserver to it when more arrive (not for a while yet though). Its part of the configuration of the integration of the OSX into AD but i cannot create the shares on the RAID from the server connected to it since it is joined only to the Active Directory. If anyone can help on this then that would be ace.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Re: Gigabit Network technology

My understanding is that the Apple Xeserver RAID boxes are Fibre Channel?

Thank Post

Hi.

Emulex make a good FC switch. But yes- you have to use the Fibre Channel connections for XServe RAID. The ethernet ports on XServe RAID are for administration only (monitoring etc) through the supplied RAID Admin tool set.

What we have done is connect the RAID to our XServe through dual FC connection and then connected the XServe to a gigabit connection dedicated to the task of feeding files to and from storage. Works great.

If you look on Apple's store (UK) business section you will find FC switches.