+ Post New Thread
Wireless Networks Thread, Slow typing on network connected computers in Technical; I have an issue that seems to be affecting all our users connected to our network. At random times during ...

Thank Post

Slow typing on network connected computers

I have an issue that seems to be affecting all our users connected to our network. At random times during the day when they type the computer does not keep up with them. Firstly we put this down to older computer equipment but it seems to be affecting brand new computers. It is affecting computers on the domain and computers not on the domain.

Firstly we thought it was related to the office suite but after a lot of testing we found it also affected Windows (we opened run command and had slow typing). This is becoming issue that we are struggling to solve.

We believe it is to do with traffic on the network; we have got 3Com network switches on site. These are 3Com 5500 and 3Com 4210. I have very little experience of configuring these switches. (it was previously installed and setup/configured by a company that no longer exists).

During the summer holidays we made a number of large changes including virtual servers. We are trying to work out where or what the problem is with no luck.

On the switches they have STP/MSTP/RSTP enabled on different switches (I believe). We have no other reported problems with our network apart from slow typing. With regards to STP not sure which one we should be using on our switches STP/MSTP/RSTP. Our core switches (3com 5500) have RSTP enabled. Also should the core switches have loop/root/edge protection enabled? It is all off at the current time.

At current our symptoms are:

Switches around the school are constantly flashing
    No reported issues with network (i.e. log on etc)
    Slow typing on different computers
    Affecting wireless and wired devices
    No Virus found as yet (scans have been run)

Any suggestions on what to do to try and solve the problem?