+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Wireless Networks Thread, Network Upgrade advice required in Technical; Hi, I recently discovered that some of the new PC's at our school are not picking up group policy settings. ...
    Thank Post

Exclamation Network Upgrade advice required

Hi,

I recently discovered that some of the new PC's at our school are not picking up group policy settings. Well I worked out why... The building they are in is seperate from the main building with the switch and whoever designed our network has used ethernet cables to link them rather than fibre optic cable. Even though I see this as a possible culprit for a mega slow network connection I also suspect that there may be too much traffic for our 10/100 network. I am considering upgrading to 10/100/1000 but i need some advice on this please as I have never done this before and don't know if it will solve the problem.

What advice could you give on upgrading?? Would I need to upgrade ALL our 10/100 switches or just a few? We have about 8...

Thank Post
    When is the network connection slow - how are you quantifying this? Slow logon times, packet loss? Does it only occour in certain parts of the school?

Having copper between buildings isn't ideal but there are plenty of sites that manage fine with it - do you have a budget to do some additional cabling?

And a network diagram illustrating the links between the switches may help us identify potential bottlenecks in the network.

Thank Post
    Id always fibre between buildings if possible but I cant see the speed thing being an issue.
    I had an odd problem recently where I couldn't load a WDS image on 1 or 2 machines, a new switch roughly the same spec works fine though! When I get a sec ill update the firmware and try again.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by dirtydog View Post
    Id always fibre between buildings if possible but I cant see the speed thing being an issue.