+ Post New Thread
Wireless Networks Thread, Recover WPA key held by 3rd party software (RM) in Technical; I might not find many sympathetic ears (eyes?) around here for this one, but I will ask anyway... In my ...

Thank Post

Recover WPA key held by 3rd party software (RM)

I might not find many sympathetic ears (eyes?) around here for this one, but I will ask anyway...

In my favour, I think people will understand my motives: I'm a teacher in a school that has just had RM roll out Vista (what's the excuse for that?!) across all staff and student laptops and I would like very much to try and get a decent operating system on mine!

Obviously, it'll be useless to me if I can't get some sort of network connectivity (I appreciate the WPA key would only be the first hurdle).

I'm familiar with Nirsoft's WirelessKeyView that grabs keys from c:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Wlansvc\Profiles\Interfac es\ and that correctly identifies my home network's WPA key. However, it doesn't find the school one. Presumably because network connectivity is handled by some of RM's software. "My Connect", maybe?? (I've not worked in an RM school before)

Has anyone got any thoughts on where/how that key might be stored?

Cheers,
    Tim

Thank Post
    Contact your network administrator or get your person in your school who talks to RM to get the key. If this is legit, you'll be able to get the key via the correct channels without resorting to using software to get it.

On a side note, getting the key without the authorisation of your school may be breaking some of their policies and will for certain be breaking the law as you do not have their permission.

Also, installing a different OS on school property might get you into bad books with who ever looks after the kit. I know if any of my teachers installed a different os on their laptops, i'd take their laptop off them.

Thank Post
    How authoritarian!

I saw that sort of response coming I suppose. I'm aware of the implications, thanks.