+ Post New Thread
Wireless Networks Thread, Deciphering wireless in Technical; Hi, we are using Zyxel wireless switches with access points (dumb) which is a complete managed wireless system we put ...
    Thank Post

Deciphering wireless

Hi, we are using Zyxel wireless switches with access points (dumb) which is a complete managed wireless system we put in earlier this year. We have recently realised that some of the access points need to be moved as they have a range of about 120 degrees. What I want to know from some wireless experts out there is what the following screen grabs mean. I have used Network stumbler and inSSIDer to monitor the same access point at the same time. Do these images look ok? The network stumbler program shows the access point in green then a few seconds later in yellow (is this ok). I am no expert in wireless (obviously) and just want to know what these readings mean.

Many thanks

Karl
    Attached Files Attached Files

Thank Post
    Looks alright, I think. I think it's just "normal" wireless traffic "noise"

dBM is on about the strenght. -30 to -90 how interesting lol.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by matt40k View Post
    dBM is on about the strenght. -30 to -90 how interesting lol.
    What would you expect it to be. The laptop was directly next to the access point

Thank Post
    Well it goes to, if it's legal +20dbm (UK legal limit). So I would guess so. Not being a wireless expert.

Assuming I understand correctly. You're not getting as good a signal... I assume someone locally has put up a wireless access point or some other such device that has affected it.

Thank Post
    I've been having some randomness going on with some of my APs of late... I'm going to do some investigation using a Wi-Spy because I suspect that there is some interference going on.

EduGeek has an offer available on these at the moment at Cheap Wi-Spy Devices for EduGeek members

Thank Post