+ Post New Thread
Wireless Networks Thread, ISA Server 2006 & EMBC - web filtering in Technical; Hey all, I haven't posted here before but I have a question. I'm sure that's not that uncommon. I want ...
    Thank Post

ISA Server 2006 & EMBC - web filtering

Hey all,

I haven't posted here before but I have a question. I'm sure that's not that uncommon.

I want to do away with the fairly basic filtering we have in place via Netsweeper and instead do the main filtering with ISA 2006 which we have setup on our network perimeter. I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to ISA but I have played around with it a little and have found some guides which show various ways to enable web filtering. My problem is that I can't seem to get the filtering to work properly. It either doesn't filter at all, or blocks everything. I have tried setting up Access Rules that then filter all traffic via Domain Name Sets and also URL sets. Neither of these methods worked, but it's possible it could be to do with the DNS setup here ...

In conjunction with the above I also tried to configure Web Chaining and use the EMBC proxy as an upstream proxy, but that didn't work either.

I was just wondering if there is a way of configuring our ISA server so we can have finer control of filtering on a local level. The primary purpose of this would be so I could control filtering at a AD group level.

I realise that my inexperience with ISA is probably the main problem here, but I would appreciate any advice on this.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,769 Times in 1,191 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Welcome

Web chaining shouldn't be a problem, we do that here with EMBC proxy.

We have two rules, one that serves up local sites, and a second that directs everything else upstream.

What issues were you having?

As an aside, I once had a chat with an EMBC guy about ISA Servers, he got very angry and told me to bin ours as it was 'junk'. Very weird conversation.

Thank Post